CLAP CLAP CLAP-CLAP-CLAP!
I dislike the Canadiens. (The hockey team, that is, not people from Canada in general.)
If both Hunters have their maximum number of Items, are they allowed to trade?
The rulebook wrote:
Trading allows the Hunter to trade Item cards back and forth with any one other Hunter in the same city as him. The two Hunters can trade Item cards with each other in any way they see fit, as long as neither goes over their limit for Item cards.
(Emphasis in the original, but not important to this question.)
Yes: Hunter A and Hunter B trade Item Card 1 and Item Card 2 simultaneously, so at no point do they go over their hand limit. The final clause emphasizes that the final result of the trading must be a legal position.
No: Hunter A and Hunter B trade Item Card 1 and Item Card 2 in a "back and forth" manner, so after Item Card 1 is passed Hunter A has 2 Items and Hunter B has 4 Items before Item Card 2 has a chance to be passed. This violates the final clause.