Commands & Colors: Ancients» Forums » General

Subject: Expansion Packs - New Units/Capabilities? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mario Valdes-Lora
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
I am a total newbie to this game but I am enjoying it immensely. Played my first two games against myself today (Akragas) and had a lot of fun. (One Carthaginian victory; one Syracusan blowout). Haven't bought the expansion packs yet (although I'm sure I will) and I have a question. Do these have new units with new capabilities, abilities, limitations, rules, etc? Or do they consist essentially of different armies (i.e. colored blocks) of units with essentially the same designations (LI, War, HI, MI, etc.) and capabilities as those in the base game?

Many thanks.

Mario
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wulf Corbett
Scotland
Shotts
Lanarkshire
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
mvaldeslora wrote:
I am a total newbie to this game but I am enjoying it immensely. Played my first two games against myself today
Did you win?
Quote:
Haven't bought the expansion packs yet (although I'm sure I will) and I have a question. Do these have new units with new capabilities, abilities, limitations, rules, etc?
Some, but not many. Mostly the new armies use the same units with different coloured blocks and different stickers. There are some new rules for later period Romans, chariots, etc.

But the most important thing is the different mix of units - armies with more or less stress on certain types of forces. This game takes the attitude that you should have unique blocks for each army, even though most of them have the same abilities as those of other armies. Other similar games such as Ancients I have two generic armies, and the scenarios tell you what units make up that nationality's forces.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jamie Vantries
United States
Woodbury
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
mbmb