Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

War for Edaðh» Forums » General

Subject: Subject: Attack value '*' - v. archers and v. spearman rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Martin Butcher
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
As previously discussed, a GV of "*" denotes outwitting your opponent and not suffering any losses. When two units of spearman are at ballistic range then the winner will automatically inflict a 5 MP loss which can't be stopped because of the "*" GV. I presume this represents intimidation, outmaneouvring, low-esteem, etc, but please confirm.

The rules confirm in several places that you do not inflict more than the 5 MP loss even if you win with a 12 card.

So... if you have a spearman v. archer at ballistic ranges then it is pointless playing a 10-12 as the spearman because you will spend extra MP for no benefit, thus meaning that it would be dangerous to play a 7-9 because then the archers can play a 10-12. So, the spearman should play a 1 to be safe, but then the archers know this also so can safely play a 2, etc, etc. Nice mind battle there. I wonder how often an archer wins with a 12 at ballistic range against a troop type that can only inflict it's default (5).

Choices, choices.

Haven't played it yet but does seem very promising.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nigel Pyne
United Kingdom
Southampton
Hampshire
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep the loss of MP is down to intimidation, outmanoeuvring, morale, etc.

It seems you're getting to grips with the choices of Mastery Card in relation to the troops being used.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.