Subject: Can't seem to beat hacienda rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Adam Schwer
United States
Olathe
Kansas
flag msg tools
Hello, I have been playing PR for about the past two months now, and others have been playing it before me. One of those others, and so far I would agree, thinks that if you get hacienda, most of the time you are going to win. I have tried getting hacienda, and when I do, I do win most of the time. I have not gotten hacienda, and other players have gotten it, and I win less than half the time (the one time I did win was when I did a corn/coffee strategy with harbor and small warehouse, got coffee on the large boat early, and the other two had to fight it out using the other boats while essentially I had my own boat)

It seems that hacienda doesn't seem very important on this forum, but I wanted to find out if anybody could elaborate on the hacienda's importance and any strategies known to work against hacienda. Maybe my friends and I are missing something..... Thanks.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grzegorz Kobiela
Germany
Hanover
Lower Saxony
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Editor at Lookout Games
mbmbmbmbmb
Try a building strategy. Get tobacco or coffee early, get small and/or large marketplace, and preferrably Factory. Let others craft, build the large buildings fast and do just some little shipping (let others captain!). This will win you most of the time. It seems like your group is heavily pursueing a shipping strategy. I find Hacienda to be fairly weak. I love Construction Hut more.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Schwer
United States
Olathe
Kansas
flag msg tools
Grzegorz, yes, that is the other thing I have noticed is that even when I focus more on building, I still try to ship more than I should. I will have to focus solely on building. Tanya farnuva, diola lle

Any other thoughts?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gil Hova
United States
Jersey City
New Jersey
flag msg tools