Mark Holmes
United Kingdom
Shipley
West Yorkshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I haven't played EotAW yet but having read the rules I have a question. The rules state that you can discard a card from your hand but not a special card. It also says that you can only display one type of special card. Does this imply that once you've selected a special card then you are stuck with it for the rest of the game?

Cheers ... Mark
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Hamilton
United Kingdom
Stockport
Cheshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is a long time since I played the game but I think you are right. Special cards are permanent and cannot be discarded.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
upandawaygames.com
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mr_mrholmes wrote:
The rules state .... that you can only display one type of special card.


Lest there be any confusion, you can actually display all the types, but only one per type (merchants excluded).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Shay
United States
Norwood
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You would only want to discard cards that give you negative scoring points. There is no disadvantage to to holding other cards, even if you would never play them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.