Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Caveman» Forums » Rules

Subject: Dramatic Appearance card clarification rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Angela Kraybill
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
The Dramatic Appearance card reads:
T-Rex appears out of nowhere catching a tribe unawares. Move T-Rex to any non-beach circle on the board.

Debate ensued about whether T-Rex could enter a camp. Yes, the rules state that you cannot be attacked in a camp, but the rules also state that you cannot be attacked on your own beach. Yet the bolded text on the card specifically states any "non-beach circle". If we are excluding ALL known off-limit circles, meaning beaches and camps, why is the card so explicit?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Hall
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
designer
The reason for the beach specific is that although you can't attack anything it would block arriving pieces, which isn't good for the gameplay. Otherwise people will move it to an EMPTY beach circle if you see what I mean.

We kept the cards reasonably precised but could have added non-camp as well I suppose; although to be honest the card being the only way to get into a camp is not a bad touch either (but not in honesty our itent). We intended the different bits of rules to work together.

Hope that helps.

Simon
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.