Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Combat Commander: Europe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Opportunity Fire rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Montgomery
United States
Joliet
Illinois
flag msg tools
Dear Geek: Please insert the wittiest comment you can think of in this text pop-up. Then times it by seven.
badge
The Coat of Arms of Clan Montgomery - Scotland. Yes, that's a woman with the head of a savage in her hand, and an anchor. No clue what it means, but it's cool.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ran into a question about the Opportunity Fire rules. While I think we played it right, I wanted some clarification.

FIRST QUESTION

Player A activates Leader A and his entire command radius for movement.

Player A moves Squad A into Hex A2. The opponent declares op-fire and fires. Unit A stops his movement.

Using the same Move Order, Player A moves Team B into Hex A2 with Unit A. The opponent declares op-fire (for "free") using his already activated op-firing unit.

In that case, does Player A make a Defense Roll on the second Op Fire for BOTH Unit A and Unit B, or just for Unit B? Essentially, Unit A gets fired upon twice instead of once.

We played that both units would take Op-Fire and the way to avoid that is to move the units as a stack (with the concomitant limitations that brings with it).

SECOND QUESTION

Can fortifications be built in hexes with buildings? Does that include the Pillbox?

We played that yes, fortifications, including the pillbox (if you get the appropriate event) can be played in building hexes.

Thanks for any answers.

Chris
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cindy Nowak
United States
Kenosha
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A33.3 Op Fire Exceptions

From the all important big gray box at the end of that section:

If another unit later moved into that...hex in the same Move Order, it could be the target of another Op Fire attack-even by the same op-firing unit(s)

Yes, the first unit could be fired on twice - and would defend each time.

Foritifications
F100.3 Stacking
No more than one Fortification marker of any type may ever occupy a single hex.

A building is terrain, not a fortification.

F104 Pillbox

A Pillbox gives the hex it occupies an alternate Cover of "5"...As usual this is not cumulative with other Cover in the hex.

So yes, you played that correctly.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Pardoe
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
Op Fire at multiple units
Correct - Read the first line of O20.3.4 Fire Defense Roll A player has to make a Fire Defense Roll - one at a time in any order desired - for each of his units that were in a hex at the moment that a Fire Attack Roll was made against it.

Fortifications in buildings
Sure. The only prohibitions (F100.3) are that a fortification may not occupy a Water hex. So this includes the Pillbox.

However, note that A 35.3 Hidden Pillbox adds an additional restriction - the Hidden Pillbox can only be placed in an objective hex.


Edit: Stupid Ergo software locked up my computer while responding. Scoutmom has the correct answers above also.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Montgomery
United States
Joliet
Illinois
flag msg tools
Dear Geek: Please insert the wittiest comment you can think of in this text pop-up. Then times it by seven.
badge
The Coat of Arms of Clan Montgomery - Scotland. Yes, that's a woman with the head of a savage in her hand, and an anchor. No clue what it means, but it's cool.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for helping to confirm our decisions. We weren't sure, and you guys provided the confirmation. Thanks.

Chris
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John McLintock
Scotland
Glasgow
Lanarkshire
flag msg tools
badge
"Roll dice and kick ass!"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just one final note: a unit not activated to move would still have to make a defence roll if it was in the same hex as a unit which had just entered that hex using a move order. The unit not activated to move would still suffer suppression instead of breaking if its defence total exactly equalled the attack total.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.