Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Cuba» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rules questsion (Buildings, Veto, etc) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ian Armstrong
Canada
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

I recently bought Cuba and have some questions re: the rules. They are:

1) Does it matter in what order you place the buildings on the right of the board? The manual has a picture, but then says you don't need to follow it. We took it that the order didn't matter and you could just choose whatever building to build when the architect action was used.. ?

2) How does the veto power actually work? I couldn't find any reference to it in the manual.. I know that one of the buildings (church?) allows you to use it, but that's all.

3) How does that +2 votes token work as well?

4) If a ship already has goods on it, can another player fill in any gaps on that ship, even if they didn't place the initial goods?

Thanks for any help you can offer.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rik Van Horn
United States
Livonia
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Nope, organizing them by type does help when looking for a specific one though.

2. The veto power comes from the church. First you activate the church with the architect. When you do that you take the veto token off it and you keep it until the parliament phase.
After the two bills have been selected by whomever, you can use your veto to nullify one of them. Then put the veto token back on the church.
Also you can't veto the same bill type twice in a row.

3. The vote token works the same as the veto. Activate the building it's on, then take the token. It counts as two votes.

4. You can load any one ship with any goods it has empty spaces for, no matter who else loaded it or whatever they loaded.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Armstrong
Canada
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks.

So for the veto, if you veto a bill that was in effect, it is removed from the board and whatever bill was underneath it (which could be none) is then in effect?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rik Van Horn
United States
Livonia
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dante2010xxx wrote:
Thanks.

So for the veto, if you veto a bill that was in effect, it is removed from the board and whatever bill was underneath it (which could be none) is then in effect?


No, whatever act was already in effect in that section of parliament stays in effect.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Armstrong
Canada
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
OK, I'm a bit confused then. If the act that was already in effect stays in effect, what is the point of using a veto on it?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Armstrong
Canada
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry.. I might have misunderstood your explanation. You're saying that you use the veto power immediately after the 2 bills are selected, so you are in essence removing one bill before it ever hits the board..?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. Normally, the vote winner selects 2 of the 4 bills showing and puts them on the board as active, and discards the other 2.

With veto, 1 is removed before voting, the winner selects 2 of the 3 remaining.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rokkr wrote:
2. The veto power comes from the church. First you activate the church with the architect. When you do that you take the veto token off it and you keep it until the parliament phase. After the two bills have been selected by whomever, you can use your veto to nullify one of them. Then put the veto token back on the church.


That isn't quite right Rik. The rules state (emphasis theirs):

rules page 15 wrote:
The "Church" veto tile allows a player to take a bill out of committee immediately. Consequently, there are only 3 bills left in the current round.


So, the moment you use the Foreman (the architect is the guy that allows you to build new buildings on your board) and activate the church is when you remove the bill, leaving 3 for voting on later. This takes place in Phase B the Action phase, while you're still choosing which characters you'll be using.

It's most definitely not after the voting, or after the two bills are now statutes.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grzegorz Kobiela
Germany
Hanover
Lower Saxony
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Editor at Lookout Games
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dante2010xxx wrote:
Sorry.. I might have misunderstood your explanation. You're saying that you use the veto power immediately after the 2 bills are selected, so you are in essence removing one bill before it ever hits the board..?



Yes, you can't veto a law that is already active. You can just veto one of the 4 upcoming laws.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.