Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Sun Tzu» Forums » Rules

Subject: Placing Armies and Discards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeremy Yoder
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

When placing armies, the rules say if a player doesn't have enough that "he MUST take them from a neighboring Province if he can or another Province, if he does not control a neighboring Province." Can I select armies from multiple adjacent Provinces, or must they all come from 1 Province if possible? I assume I can take from multiple, or I may not have enough armies from a single Province.

Also, I assume discards go facedown and not left revealed faceup, right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hélio Andrade
Portugal
Lisboa
Lisboa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
my understanding of the rules:

1. take all cubes from a adjacent province if possible
2. if not enough in 1 adjacent province, take from several adjacent until the total
3. if not enough in all adjacent provincies, then use other regions.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Pressler
United States
West Lafayette
Indiana
flag msg tools
designer
OMG! Overtext! How long have I been sleeping?! OVERTEXT! Also, I'm a DESIGNER now?! Sweet! OVERTEXXXXXXT!
badge
HO HO HO! Give me some money!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules really do not make ths clear. We played that you can take from multiple provinces. You simply have to choose armies from adjacent provinces before you more distant ones. However, we noticed that MOST provinces are adjacent to most others, so I wonder if Helio is correct.

It would be a more severe penalty for over-investing in a province. If you already have all your armies on the board, such a penalty might give the other player a chance to get back in the game. I will try playing one province at a time next game.

As for looking at discards, the rules are silent, but I play them open. http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/420680
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan Newman
United States
Wantagh
New York
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JYoder wrote:

When placing armies, the rules say if a player doesn't have enough that "he MUST take them from a neighboring Province if he can or another Province, if he does not control a neighboring Province." Can I select armies from multiple adjacent Provinces, or must they all come from 1 Province if possible? I assume I can take from multiple, or I may not have enough armies from a single Province.

Also, I assume discards go facedown and not left revealed faceup, right?


Any neighboring Province is "a neighboring Province."

Discards should be placed face up since info is trackable anyway.

Regards,

Alan
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Michel
Germany
Stuttgart
Baden-Württemberg
flag msg tools
mbmb
Sorry Al, but still no answer for the important question in this thread.

So again: if I have not enough armies in my reserve and I have more than one neighboring province can I take the armies from any number of these neighboring provinces in any combination?

For example: I have 3 neighboring provinces with 1, 2 and 3 armies and I'm missing 3 armies in my reserve. Could I for instance take 1 army from the province with 2 armies and 2 armies from the province with 3 armies and thus leaving none of the provinces empty?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.