Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Dominion: Intrigue» Forums » Rules

Subject: Throne Room + Secret Chamber ? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Blakeley
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Is anyone surprised we played several games of Intrigue? No?

Playing the recommended Deconstruction set raised a couple of questions about interactions between the two sets.

Specifically playing a Throne Room on the Secret Chamber. Would that double the value of the discarded cards (each discard worth 2 coins?) or would it be some other strange variant?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Sitz
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Throne Room + Secret Chamber would mean that you get to use the Secret Chamber card twice. The first time, you'd discard some of your hand, and get some coins. The second time, you probably won't have many cards left that you'll want to discard.

That's my feeling anyway.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Wolfe
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
Zendo fan, Columbus Blue Jackets fan, Dominion Fan.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ChrisBinSEA wrote:
Is anyone surprised we played several games of Intrigue? No?

Playing the recommended Deconstruction set raised a couple of questions about interactions between the two sets.

Specifically playing a Throne Room on the Secret Chamber. Would that double the value of the discarded cards (each discard worth 2 coins?) or would it be some other strange variant?


When you Throne Room a card, it's as if you played the card twice. So, you discard any number of cards, and get +1 Coin for each card discarded, then you discard any number of cards again, and get +1 Coin for each card discarded the second time. The net effect of a Throne Roomed Secret Chamber is the same as a normal Secret Chamber. You're better off discarding the Throne Room with the Secret Chamber for the +1 Coin.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Blakeley
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
jeffwolfe wrote:
ChrisBinSEA wrote:
Is anyone surprised we played several games of Intrigue? No?

Playing the recommended Deconstruction set raised a couple of questions about interactions between the two sets.

Specifically playing a Throne Room on the Secret Chamber. Would that double the value of the discarded cards (each discard worth 2 coins?) or would it be some other strange variant?


When you Throne Room a card, it's as if you played the card twice. So, you discard any number of cards, and get +1 Coin for each card discarded, then you discard any number of cards again, and get +1 Coin for each card discarded the second time. The net effect of a Throne Roomed Secret Chamber is the same as a normal Secret Chamber. You're better off discarding the Throne Room with the Secret Chamber for the +1 Coin.


Well that's... a pretty much worthless combo, yeah.

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.