1 , 2  Next »   | 

Agricola» Forums » Strategy

Subject: I have played some games, and have a LOT of questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert C

Ohio
msg tools
I posted a thread under Puerto Rico with the same name. I am just kinda new to board games and trying to understand 'board game theory.'
So...Agricola. I have played about 8 games, only 3 with occupations and minor improvements, and have been thinking about some stuff.

First, I don't like the cards. I feel like the game does not need them, and, to an extent, they only take away from the game. One example is the Taster. With such a unique way to determine the first player (from the games I have played) this seems silly. They will always have first dibbs on family growth, or family growth without room. And there is NOTHING I can do about it. The other I had a problem with (and I forget the name) says players only lose points for begging cards and unused spaces. I don't get why that card is in there. Although the cards add a new twist to the game everytime it is played, I don't think the are needed, mostly because the game plays so well without them.

I terms of stragety.... The spaces that have two options, I (mostly)only take them when I can do both. I don't sow unless I can bake, and I don't add a room unless I can build a stable. Why waste an option?
I sometimes don't take three wood and hope it will become six - or the like. I know it is dangerous, but is it a good idea?

I like fences because you can breed. I like major improvements early, and cooking for most of my food. I don't like renovations because I feel like they don't give the most return. (Minimum of three moves to renovate could be spent better? And rarely does anyone have a stone house at the end of the game. Although this is where I think I am most wrong) I like stealing the starting player when I know family growth (even without) is going to come up.