Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Russia Besieged» Forums » Rules

Subject: Kerch retreat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
D Bryant
msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Normal movement rules say a unit must stop movement after moving into the opposite hex across the Kerch straits.

However, it also mentions that a unit may retreat across the straits and count the opposite side hex as one of its required retreat moves. In other words, the working implies that if a unit must retreat two hexes, it can do so when moving across the straits.

Is this contradictory? May/must a unit (for example) which is on one side of the strait and gets a "retreat two" result move across the strait and then move an additional hex, even though "normal" movement rules would require it to stop on the opposite side?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Eliason
United States
Iowa
flag msg tools
mb
Rule 6.26 of the latest rules edition clears this up. Retreating across the straits (3922 to 3823 or vice versa) counts as only one hex of the retreat. Many games have rules where retreating units can move faster than advancing ones due to ignoring terrain restrictions. This is an example of such a rule.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.