Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Daitou» Forums » Rules

Subject: Bidding question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
J Holmes
New Zealand
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
The rules are pretty clear in most cases.

With bidding, assumedly the winning bid money goes to the bank?
(Not stated, but everything else is very clear)

Also can a player bid 0?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
T. Nomad
Netherlands
Den Bosch
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've been playing that a 0 bid simply means taking 3rd in the turn order.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lajos
Japan
Hachiouji
Tokyo
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
j_holmes wrote:
With bidding, assumedly the winning bid money goes to the bank?

Yes, bids are paid to the bank.

j_holmes wrote:
Also can a player bid 0?

Since it is no disallowed by the current rules, in principle the starting bid could indeed be zero. Effectively, that means that if no one wants to bid, the first player will stay the same.

However, Tommy's interpretation may be a better rule, because that would imply that the starting player has to pay to be able to stay the starting player and turn order is shuffled somewhat each round.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J Holmes
New Zealand
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
For the first 2 player game, we didnt play with bidding since by the end of the first year the other player was somewhat broke and lost tracks to taxes, so it would have only cost me $1 in bids.



1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Mestemaker
United States
Wheeling
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lajos wrote:
However, Tommy's interpretation may be a better rule, because that would imply that the starting player has to pay to be able to stay the starting player and turn order is shuffled somewhat each round.


We made that same assumption as well. i.e. 0 bid = Pass. Taking the first position seemed strong, so letting someone keep it for free because everyone else is hurting doesn't seem right.

But, this may be an area where the runaway leader issue can be addressed. Similar to Power Grid, maybe the turn order in years 2 and 3 should be the inverse of the current monetary situation?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.