Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Cosmic Encounter» Forums » Rules

Subject: When can Super Human discard his flare for a Zap? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rob Burns
United States
Troy
MI
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Has anyone else had this question regarding the Human Flare? Human's Super says:

"You may cause your power to add 8 to your side's total instead of 4. Also, you may discard this flare to zap your power."

Situation: Human (offense) versus Loser (defense). Loser had lost the use of his alien power, however, which became a factor.

Reincarnator/Philanthropist hands Loser a card (it turned out to be the Loser flare). Loser is de-powered so he can play the Wild Flare, which he chooses to do (this flare had already been played three or four times previously, ack! What an annoying Flare), which is played in the "Planning" phase.

Human then tries to play his Super, discarding it for the self-Zap. The Human Flare indicates that the Super can only be used during "Reveal," however is this possibly only intended to refer to the main effect of the Super?

We ruled that Human could not discard his flare for the self-Zap and the win because Wild Loser had already aborted the encounter, ending it before it can even get to the Reveal phase. I think we ruled it right, any thoughts?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Big Head Zach
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rjburns3 wrote:
Has anyone else had this question regarding the Human Flare? Human's Super says:

"You may cause your power to add 8 to your side's total instead of 4. Also, you may discard this flare to zap your power."

Situation: Human (offense) versus Loser (defense). Loser had lost the use of his alien power, however, which became a factor.

Reincarnator/Philanthropist hands Loser a card (it turned out to be the Loser flare). Loser is de-powered so he can play the Wild Flare, which he chooses to do (this flare had already been played three or four times previously, ack! What an annoying Flare), which is played in the "Planning" phase.

Human then tries to play his Super, discarding it for the self-Zap. The Human Flare indicates that the Super can only be used during "Reveal," however is this possibly only intended to refer to the main effect of the Super?

We ruled that Human could not discard his flare for the self-Zap and the win because Wild Loser had already aborted the encounter, ending it before it can even get to the Reveal phase. I think we ruled it right, any thoughts?


Human's power is used "after encounter cards are revealed". This is when you are able to zap his power, and no other time. Therefore, the timing of the Super Human Flare is the same (especially since the first aspect of it, adding 8, merely modifies the existing power's potential).

You are correct. Wild Loser triggers at the beginning of Planning, and technically ends the encounter (skipping Reveal and going right to Resolution, since you've already determined the winner - no one.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.