Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Snow Tails» Forums » Rules

Subject: Bonus Movement Timing rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: rules_clarification [+] [View All]
Kyle
United States
Up Nort' Der
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
VAST: The Mysterious Manor
badge
We must move forward, not backward, upward, not forward, and always twirling, twirling, twirling towards freedom!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This situation came up in a game a few days ago...


The player in fourth position is two spaces away from the red line of a corner with a speed limit of three.

The player has a five on the brake, and plays a pair of twos on the left and right dogs.


If that player takes their bonus movement of 4...
1) How many spaces forward do they move?
and
2) Do they take a dent card?

This is mainly in regards to the line in the rulebook that states the bonus movement is taken at the end of the sled's regular movement. In this thread Fraser Lamont clarified that it doesn't really matter if you take the bonus at the beginning or end and the rules are worded that way primarily so players can decide if they still want to use it or not. However, in this situation that wording does make a difference.



If the bonus is applied right away, the sled would move three spaces forward and would not take a dent card:
2Left + 2Right + 4Bonus - 5Brake = 3 spaces

If the bonus is applied after normal movement, it would move four spaces and have to take a dent:
2Left + 2Right - 5Brake = -1 (which becomes 0 since you can't move backwards) + 4Bonus = 4 spaces

We went with the first possibility (3 spaces and no dent) since it was the person's first time playing, but a strict reading of the rules suggests the latter.

Which one is meant to be correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy
United Kingdom
Manchester
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
According to the rules in my Asmodee Edition:

1) The bonus move is applied at the end of the sled's move
2) Bonus move can only be applied if the sled has a speed >= 1
3) Bonus move counts towards the speed of the sled crossing the line.

So in your example the bonus move cannot be applied since the sled has a net speed of -1
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fraser Lamont
Scotland
Dunblane
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Grimwold wrote:
According to the rules in my Asmodee Edition:

1) The bonus move is applied at the end of the sled's move
2) Bonus move can only be applied if the sled has a speed >= 1
3) Bonus move counts towards the speed of the sled crossing the line.

So in your example the bonus move cannot be applied since the sled has a net speed of -1


Hi Kyle,

This is the same as the Fragor version - the sled has to be moving to take advantage of the bonus.

cheers,
Fraser

Fraser Lamont
Fragor Games
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle
United States
Up Nort' Der
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
VAST: The Mysterious Manor
badge
We must move forward, not backward, upward, not forward, and always twirling, twirling, twirling towards freedom!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, both of you!

I somehow completely missed the rule that the sled has to actually be moving to get the bonus.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.