Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Race for the Galaxy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Advanced 2-player Explore Rules rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Howard Wagner
United States
Odenton
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I am still confused about the advanced two-player rules as it relates to multiple explore actions being selected. Can someone please clarify what player A and player B would do/receive during the explore phase in each of these scenarios:

1) Player A selects both Explore actions and Player B selects two non-explore actions.

2) Player A selects +5 Explore and Player B selects +1,+1 Explore.

3) Player A selects both Explore actions and Player B selects +5 Explore.

4) Player A selects both Explore actions and Player B selects +1,+1 Explore.

Thanks for your help.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Kang
United States
Stanford
CA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Assuming no other bonuses,

1) Player A draws 8 and keeps 2, Player B draws 2 and keeps 1.

2) Player A draws 7 and keeps 1, Player B draws 3 and keeps 2.

3) Player A draws 8 and keeps 2, Player B draws 7 and keeps 1.

4) Player A draws 8 and keeps 2, Player B draws 3 and keeps 2.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Assuming no card powers involved:

1) A: draw 8, keep 2; B: draw 2, keep 1.
2) A: draw 7, keep 1; B: draw 3, keep 2 (just like normal game).
3) A: draw 8, keep 2; B: draw 7, keep 1.
4) A: draw 8, keep 2; B: draw 3, keep 2.

There is only one explore action, everything played on it by a given player adds to the base Explore draw 2, keep 1.

So, in case 1, for example, A is adding draw+5 and draw+1,keep+1 to the base draw 2 keep 1, which yields draw 8, keep 2. B didn't play any Explore action and simply gets the base draw 2, keep 1.
14 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
EP Papa
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) Player A looks at 8 cards and keeps 2. Player B looks at 2 cards and keeps 1.

2) Player A looks at 7 cards and keeps 1. Player B looks at 3 cards and keeps 2.

3) Player A looks at 8 cards and keeps 2. Player B looks at 7 cards and keeps 1.

4) Player A looks at 8 cards and keeps 2. Player B looks at 3 cards and keeps 1.

You evaluate how many cards each player looks at separately off of the base look at 2 and keep 1, and then add the bonuses.

My answers assume no other phase I bonuses are in effect.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Irving
United States
Salinas
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If one player selects BOTH Explore o, only one Exploreoccurs, with that player getting both bonuses: Explore Look at 6 extra cards and keep 1 extra card. (if no other Phase I benefits are in their tableau): draw 2+6/keep 1+1.

If the other player selects an Explore power (some other action with their other card), they'll get whatever bonus they selected on the Explore card.

If the other player selected two non-Explore cards, they'll get a normal explore phase: draw 2 / keep 1 (barring any Phase I benefits in their tableau.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Biodiesel
United States
Manassas
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So, the key point to make here is that you do NOT have two separate Explore phases occurring just because one player selected both explore actions.

I think it is just Settle, if selected twice by the same person, that is treated as two separate phases. In that case all players could settle twice (not all would get the bonus, of course).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Serge Levert
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sappington wrote:
I think it is just Settle, if selected twice by the same person, that is treated as two separate phases. In that case all players could settle twice (not all would get the bonus, of course).


Close.

Double Explore = 1 phase, both bonuses.
Double Develop = 2 phases.
Double Settle = 2 phases.
Double Consume = 1 phase, both bonuses.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wei-Hwa Huang
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Double Produce = Someone is sneaking action cards in from another set!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Serge Levert
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
onigame wrote:
Double Produce = Someone is sneaking action cards in from another set!


Intriguing... I always felt 2 of everything except Produce felt a little "off".


Edit: Err maybe i read too much into that, and set meant another player's set. :/
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Merudo
United States
Asheville
NC
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Agreed, and producing twice would make sense, to get goods on two windfall worlds.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.