Neil Carr
United States
Barre
Vermont
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I've been playing rpgs for about 28 years now, though I was on a bit of a hiatus for awhile till I got back into them in 2006. At that point I started reading various rpgs forums, such as rpg.net, enworld.com, and the forums at wizards.com

One of the things that I really missed at those other forums was that you couldn't thumb anything because a lot of great ideas could be passed around, but you never got a more clear picture of "geekgeist" of various positions.

Now, I have to say that bgg's forums are some of the best I've encountered in my 14 years on the net, in terms of admin, structure and users. What I'm kind of fascinated by is what is going to happen when the rpg community starts to show up in this style of forums and the rather well vetted admin structure.

The thing is, while we're all a bunch of geeks here in geekdom, there is still some demographic style differences. Boardgames are in a way pretty easy as a subject matter as the medium itself doesn't lend itself much to interpretation. While you could make some houserules here and there for a game, ultimately there are so many boardgames which are designed to achieve a specific result, that people tend to just play by the rules.

Rpg's however are basically red hot glowing bars of metal, ready to be pummelled into a shape that suits a individual or game group's taste. It's pretty much expected that something is going to get adjusted, ignored or over emphasized. When you get a situation like this, where every game is open to being played for wildly differen tastes, it's going to bring out the crazies, and there are lots of them in the rpg crowd!

Boardgaming definitely appeals to a lot of people, but there is a healthy representation of analytic engineering types that like order and precision. Boardgames work well to give this effect with their limited scope rules that are normally dealing with abstract game mechanics.