Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

EastFront II» Forums » Rules

Subject: Questions. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Miguel Enrique Escribano
msg tools
1) How many blocks can be moved in a normal movement (not strategic movement) per Supreme move of a Supreme Headquarter?, is there any limit in the distance where the block is?.

2) Imagine a line of front (North-south), Imagine having battles in all the hex of this line and Imagine all of them are Friendly to the axis, Imagine there is a Battle Hex just eastwards (E1) of this line that is friendly to the Soviets. Does the units of the soviets in the front line hex just west of this E1 hex suffer Supply Atrition?.



3) Which is the scenario you recomend for beginers?, are the scenarios of 1944 nearly impossible to play for being very unbalanced against the axis?.

Thanks,
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Montgomery
United States
Joliet
Illinois
flag msg tools
Dear Geek: Please insert the wittiest comment you can think of in this text pop-up. Then times it by seven.
badge
The Coat of Arms of Clan Montgomery - Scotland. Yes, that's a woman with the head of a savage in her hand, and an anchor. No clue what it means, but it's cool.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm a little rusty, but here's what I remember from the rules. A second opinion should be sought for confirmation.

Homero930 wrote:
1) How many blocks can be moved in a normal movement (not strategic movement) per Supreme move of a Supreme Headquarter?, is there any limit in the distance where the block is?.


You take the CV value of the Supreme HQ multiplied times 2. That is how many units can be moved with a Supreme Move. You may move units more than once, but it takes one of the alloted moves each time. There is no limit in the distance--ANY FRIENDLY UNITS ON THE MAP MAY BE MOVED. However, the unit is limited in movement as per its normal movement rules. Strategic movement allows 10 hexes. Once you are done with your strategic movement, drop the Supreme HQ by one step.

Example: Supreme HQ has a CV of III. You declare a Supreme Move. You now may move CV x 2 units, or 6 units, anywhere on the map. You move Army Group A twice, and four other units once. Having now exhausted all your moves, you reduce your Supreme HQ by one step. Your Supreme Move is finished.

Quote:
2) Imagine a line of front (North-south), Imagine having battles in all the hex of this line and Imagine all of them are Friendly to the axis, Imagine there is a Battle Hex just eastwards (E1) of this line that is friendly to the Soviets. Does the units of the soviets in the front line hex just west of this E1 hex suffer Supply Atrition?.


If I understand your question correctly, no. The Soviets do not suffer attrition. Supply must be able to be traced to a friendly railhead up to two hexes away. If a unit is in a battle hex, does not control that battle hex, but can trace supply to a friendly rail head, it is in supply. If you played otherwise, then anytime a unit started a battle, it would be out of supply.

Be sure that you understand the supply rules and the difference between friendly, enemy, and disputed.

Quote:
3) Which is the scenario you recomend for beginers?, are the scenarios of 1944 nearly impossible to play for being very unbalanced against the axis?.


Not sure, but the game itself states that Kursk is a good scenario for two beginning players. Both the Axis and the Soviets have offensive capability, and neither player starts the scenario at a huge advantage over the other. I would highly recommend that you solo yourself through the Edelweiss walk-through first. Keep in mind, though, that there are couple typos in the scenario description.

Many of the other scenarios imbalanced during play, but have a handicap of VPs built in. Nonetheless, many of the scenarios require skilled players on both sides, even when it appears that one player will walk all over his opponent. See the sidebar on the first or second page of the rulebook, where it has many recommended scenarios depending on your particular situation.

Cheers.

Chris
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Miguel Enrique Escribano
msg tools
In the case of the atrition what I wanted to say is if we may tras a supply line through a Friendly Battle Hex finishing in an Enemy Battle Hex, may you clarify?.

Thanks,
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rusty McFisticuffs
United States
Arcata
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Homero930 wrote:
1) How many blocks can be moved in a normal movement (not strategic movement) per Supreme move of a Supreme Headquarter?, is there any limit in the distance where the block is?.

cmontgo2 is right about the number of units which can be moved, but when he says that units can be moved more than once, he's talking about strategic movement (rail or sea), not normal land movement. (And a unit can't move both strategically and normally in the same turn--6.53, 9.21.) And when he says they can be moved 10 hexes per strategic move, that's 10 hexes by rail. (And note that rail lines inside an isolated pocket are not usable; they must be able to trace a line back to the supply origin--9.12.)

Also, regarding this bit:
cmontgo2 wrote:
Once you are done with your strategic movement, drop the Supreme HQ by one step.

When you're done with your supreme moves, you can Mobilize your SHQ like any other HQ (with the additional difference that it can mobilize by rail--5.62), or you can leave it face-up through the combat phase, so that you can use its air strike. (In that case, it deactivates in its current hex instead of getting to Mobilize.)

And just to make sure: normal HQs don't work like this at all. When a normal HQ activates, all units within its command radius can move, but none of those moves can be by rail or sea.

Homero930 wrote:
2) Imagine a line of front (North-south), Imagine having battles in all the hex of this line and Imagine all of them are Friendly to the axis, Imagine there is a Battle Hex just eastwards (E1) of this line that is friendly to the Soviets. Does the units of the soviets in the front line hex just west of this E1 hex suffer Supply Atrition?.
Homero930 wrote:
In the case of the atrition what I wanted to say is if we may tras a supply line through a Friendly Battle Hex finishing in an Enemy Battle Hex, may you clarify?.

Right, a supply line (not rail supply) can be traced through a friendly battle hex (10.3), and into (but not through) an enemy battle hex. Even rail supply can be traced into a friendly battle hex, just not through it.

Homero930 wrote:
3) Which is the scenario you recomend for beginers?, are the scenarios of 1944 nearly impossible to play for being very unbalanced against the axis?.

Well... Barbarossa may not be balanced, but it's a lot of fun to play. Usually the Axis player stomps the hell out of the Soviets for 5 hours; then the handicap is applied, and the Soviets win. The reason I think it's good for beginners is that, unless the Axis player is too timid, you really see the effects & importance of breaking through and cutting off enemy units rather than rolling straight into them. The Soviet player just has to keep his spirits up, and not be upset by his huge pile of dead units. He just needs to slow the Axis down "enough," and have his best units in the right place when the Axis player gets too confident and makes a mistake late in the scenario.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Montgomery
United States
Joliet
Illinois
flag msg tools
Dear Geek: Please insert the wittiest comment you can think of in this text pop-up. Then times it by seven.
badge
The Coat of Arms of Clan Montgomery - Scotland. Yes, that's a woman with the head of a savage in her hand, and an anchor. No clue what it means, but it's cool.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for all the clarifications, Rusty.

Chris
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.