Subject: Base Game: Is the Locomotive Action too expensive? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Todd
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have only played the game twice and I am new to Wallace train games, but the Locomotive Action seems overly expensive.

I realize that by choosing this action it frees you up to deliver 2 cubes on the delivery phase. However, upgrading the locomotive during delivery is free. It seems that $4 plus the level of the locomotive (base game) is very pricey. This can cost a player between $6 and $10 to use.

In return you can deliver an extra cube which brings in 1 - 6 points or income depending on the total number of links,

Is this overpriced? I am new to these train games so I know that I am missing something.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Cote
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
5 points of income is $5 for every turn remaining in the game.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Bazynski
Poland
warsaw
mazowieckie
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I would say it is rather too cheap. assuming you have enough cubes to send (a risky assumption in steam), it is much better to take loko for $10 (2 shares), and then send to cubes for 5 points, then take the loco for 'free'. the extra 5 long shipment devoted to the income track is worth 25$ at the very least, and in fact more as you earn some additional money each turn.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Neal
United States
Liverpool
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmb
Underpriced...

Case in point - we were playing the game (wrongly) where you could only upgrade the locomotive when you had the tile - no other times - and you still only got one cube delivery when doing so.

The games were a lot closer and at no point did anyone get above a '4' locomotive. Coupled with the rule where a town counts as a separator for links in your track, this made things even more tight.