Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

B-29 Superfortress» Forums » Rules

Subject: fighter escort rendezvous and appearance of Japanese fighters rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kenneth Lury
United States
Blowing rock
NC
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have read through many posts here and on consim world and find conflicting info re:
1)when do you roll for fighter escort rendezvous if Iwo Jima still in Japanese control. If zone 3, this makes sense. If zone 9, then no escort over Iwo Jima outbound and good chance of not needing escort on inbound if it is night over Iwo.
2)If Iwo Jima still in Japanese control, do their fighters appear over Iwo Jima AND near target area(over Japan) or just over Iwo Jima.

Thanks in advance
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Wakeham
United Kingdom
Chester
Cheshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Ken,

radsailor wrote:
1)when do you roll for fighter escort rendezvous if Iwo Jima still in Japanese control. If zone 3, this makes sense. If zone 9, then no escort over Iwo Jima outbound and good chance of not needing escort on inbound if it is night over Iwo.

1. The point at which the rendezvous is rolled is dictated by the target rather than by whether Iwo Jima is in Japanese control:

Zone 3 or later if Iwo Jima is a target
Zone 9 or later if Japan is the target.

The historical note on page 4 of the rule book mentions that fighter escorts weren't assigned for missions to Japan until P-51 (and later P-47) units settled into the captured airfields on Iwo Jima. Before that, escorts were provided for missions against Iwo Jima only.

A -4 modifier applies when determining fighter escort availability in missions 1-15 on Table 2-8 EXCEPT if the target is Iwo Jima so it's less likely that you'll get any support against Japan in the early missions, as was the case.

radsailor wrote:
2)If Iwo Jima still in Japanese control, do their fighters appear over Iwo Jima AND near target area(over Japan) or just over Iwo Jima.

2. Fighters will appear over Iwo Jima AND Japan in missions 1 to 10. Note on Table 2-9 that Iwo Jima has a -2 modifier when rolling for expected fighter resistance on Table 5-1. However, it's during these missions that you don't roll on Table 5-1 if it's night time over Iwo Jima on the in-bound leg.

Ian
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kenneth Lury
United States
Blowing rock
NC
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
thank you. more headaches !
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kenneth Lury
United States
Blowing rock
NC
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
thank you. more headaches !
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Latall
United States
Whittier
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The answer to the 1st question:
4.8.A starts out "On missions #1-10, formation assebly will occur in zone 3 ...

And somewhere it tells you that Iwo Jima becomes US controlled starting in mission 11.

This means your assumption is correct and I disagree with batdog's response to the 1st question.

Ken
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.