Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

EuroFront II» Forums » Rules

Subject: 3 Questions (beachead, naval supremacy, surrender) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alberto Natta
Italy
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmb
A- Does a Beachead counts on all the seas around the hex or just 1 side from where the landing come.
Situation: Allied landing in Denmark, beachead in the hex which gives on both North Sea and the baltic one, not the top on, the one right below. According to logic should give only toward North Sea.

B- Surrendering: Does the check happens after every Allied turn?
Situation: Allies lands in Vichy after Dow, usually in Oran, Algiers and Casablanca at same time. Let's assume units of Vichy secede arms, and ports are taken.
Then Allies are entitled to roll for the Vichy surrender, which would result in Conquest, as Axis could not move any unit in Vichy land. If done in a turn of MUD (which does not hamper naval invasions) the Axis could have quite some issues securing the southern france beach as well, and to invade to land in Tunis eventually (having HQ and unit in Palermo, assuming Tripoli is still italian held).
Sounds just extreme cause Axis has virtually no time to move into Vichy if the Allies are lucky with rolls in their first forthnight.
Correct me if I am wrong please.

C- In summer '44 Allies earns control of all Atlantic seas, independant from base control - IF they have Naval Supremacy. (which usually they have).
Situation: Scenario '43, Allies decided to just go in France and leave Afrika empty except residents. If Axis would manage to luckily invade Tunis, or Tripoli, or Benghazi (one of them or more being empty, thus having only naval interdiction on invasion), would this break up the control of Atlantic by denying Allies Naval Supremacy?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Besinque
Canada
New Denver
BC
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
A- Does a Beachead counts on all the seas around the hex or just 1 side from where the landing come.
Situation: Allied landing in Denmark, beachead in the hex which gives on both North Sea and the baltic one, not the top on, the one right below. According to logic should give only toward North Sea.


I assume you mean the Esbjerg NE hex. Direction of entry into a hex is not tracked/recorded in EuF. So a BH in Esbjerg has access to the Skagerrak as well as the North Sea. What implication of this is of concern?

B- Surrendering: Does the check happens after every Allied turn?
Situation: Allies lands in Vichy after Dow, usually in Oran, Algiers and Casablanca at same time. Let's assume units of Vichy secede arms, and ports are taken.
Then Allies are entitled to roll for the Vichy surrender, which would result in Conquest, as Axis could not move any unit in Vichy land. If done in a turn of MUD (which does not hamper naval invasions) the Axis could have quite some issues securing the southern france beach as well, and to invade to land in Tunis eventually (having HQ and unit in Palermo, assuming Tripoli is still italian held).
Sounds just extreme cause Axis has virtually no time to move into Vichy if the Allies are lucky with rolls in their first forthnight.
Correct me if I am wrong please.


Surrender check occurs in each Allied Politics phase, yes. If the Allies are lucky as you state, the Axis would be barred from FNA ports by sea movement and would have to invade in. Such an eventuality is presumably what the Allies were hoping for (but did not happen).

- In summer '44 Allies earns control of all Atlantic seas, independant from base control - IF they have Naval Supremacy. (which usually they have).
Situation: Scenario '43, Allies decided to just go in France and leave Afrika empty except residents. If Axis would manage to luckily invade Tunis, or Tripoli, or Benghazi (one of them or more being empty, thus having only naval interdiction on invasion), would this break up the control of Atlantic by denying Allies Naval Supremacy?


Yes. Note however that the Axis cannot invade into the MF except from a WF major port, and without an amphibious unit, they cannot LongRange Invade (2 seas). That leaves Naples-Tunis as their only possible invasion into the MF. If they do manage to reconquer Tunis, that breaks the Allied Med Seaway and restores Naval Parity.

Craig
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.