Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ryan Frans
United States
Mukilteo
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Since I wasn't sure where to put this, it is cross posted on the Case Blue Page.

I recently stumbled upon Case Blue and it sounded amazing. I am extremely interested in trying out the OCS series and I am definitely more interested in the european theater. I have some war gaming experience, but not to this level for sure. My friend and I have been playing Downtown for a bit now, and I feel we have a good enough grasp to play the strategy not just eek through the rules. I have also been playing Attack Vector: Tactical and Birds of Prey by Ad Astra games as an example of what I've learned and played. On to the question...

I want to jump in to this, but there appear to only be two titles available; Case Blue and Burma. Burma is certainly more accessible looking, in more ways than one, but is it representative of the system enough that I could decide if I want to take the plunge onto CB? If I just broke down and bought CB would I be better off? If I could find a copy, I would be happy to start with Tunisia (from what I've read) or GBII (dream on, I guess) but I can't seem to find any available. Any suggestions are welcome. Thanks.

One other thing to mention I suppose is that it would either be a solitaire game or me and at most one other friend.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Drew Heath
United States
Galesburg
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Tunisia only recently went out of print so a copy could probably be had at pretty close to MSRP. If you're interested in East Front, that will give you a much closer feel than Burma.

CB's "scenarios" blow, from what I've read. It's either all or nothing in terms of the campaign & your satisfaction.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darrell Pavitt
United Kingdom
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
GBII is due to be reprinted some time relatively soon, apparently.