Popular Tags: Origins [+] [View All]
Pete Lane
United States
Golden Valley
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I am a veteran of Convention going, but the wife and I have been wanting to give Origins a shot as it seems more focused towards board gamers than Gen Con and Dragon Con and seems a lot mellower (which is a plus as we don't have the energy we used to). We like the "huge" trade show environment and all... but we were drawn to the idea of the "Board Room" and all the open gaming that seems to happen. So, some questions:

1 - You need to purchase a Con pass and a separate Board Room pass. What comes with the Board Room pass besides access to the library?

2 - Is there a point to purchasing tickets to other events if you can basically check the game out of the library and play it if you have the Board Room pass?

3 - I see day passes were only $3 a piece this year... Why bother purchasing a full pass for 50-70$ when the day passes are so reasonable?

4 - Do you need a special pass for CCG events, or are they normal ticketed events?

5 - Any good dealers room deals on new releases this year?

6 - Are there a lot of costumed people and overly "enthusiastic" folks that you would find at GenCon and DragonCon? (we're not fans)

7 - As far as the energy level, GenCon being a "8" and political rallies being a "10," what are we looking at here?

8 - Any other good mellower cons that focus mostly on Board Games? We do Con of the North here in Saint Paul, but we miss the large dealers room and feel it lacks variety in events, but love the lack of hyper teenagers in Naruto outfits.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Hancock
United States
Charleston
West Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
1- This year you got free drinks, one free rio grande game just for showing up (well worth the $16 dollar board room pass) and entered into a raffle for various other free games.