Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Memoir '44: Eastern Front» Forums » Rules

Subject: Russian's first move rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
M.J.E. Hendriks
Netherlands
Arnhem
Gelderland
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Question about the Political Commissar.

What do you do in the first move for the Russian?

Does he get to play a card immediately, or must he skip his first turn?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Mr Mjeh wrote:
Question about the Political Commissar.

What do you do in the first move for the Russian?

Does he get to play a card immediately, or must he skip his first turn?

I keep saying this but need to confirm it: I believe ALL commissar scenarios are set up so that the Russians play second. This allows the Russian to place the first card under the chip, then the Germans play, then the Russians play.

But if there are any scenarios (most likely SFTF) where the Russians are listed as going first. They should still place the first card under the chip first (to establish the habit). Reveal that card (or another appropriate one from their hand). Replace the Commissar card (if they played it) and then continue on with the game.

So the Russian would NOT skip his turn but should still place the card before anything else (even though it may play out exactly as if he had played it from his hand). The big reason being that they may decide to play a Recon 1 card from hand vs the card they placed under the chip as allowed by the rules.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M.J.E. Hendriks
Netherlands
Arnhem
Gelderland
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I didn't phrase my question all that well, but you did answer it well! Cheers
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mik Svellov
Denmark
Copenhagen N
EU
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ColtsFan76 wrote:
I keep saying this but need to confirm it: I believe ALL commissar scenarios are set up so that the Russians play second.

This is hereby unconfirmed or de-confirmed, or whatever you call it.

I have recently played scenario 57A: "Russian Breakout" - and as the title suggest, the Russians move first with the Russian Command Rules in effect.

But it doesn't really matter who starts, as the Commissar rules clearly state that the Russian player must add a card under the Chip before the game starts:

Eastern Front Rules Booklet wrote:
Deal Command cards to each side per the scenario's briefing notes.
The Russian player must then select one card from his hand and place it under the Commissar Chip.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M.J.E. Hendriks
Netherlands
Arnhem
Gelderland
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Huh, well, whaddaya know!

I had read that, but I didn't think it was as clear as you think it is.

Whichever way, if you place one under the chip before you start your turn, then that's what I'll do
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan C
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Battle for Rostov (on the DOW site) also has the Russians moving first with Comissar
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Loose Cannon
United States
Ypsilanti
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I know this is super old, anyhow.

Lets say I am the Russians and I go first.

I have 4 Command cards.

1-I place 1 under the chip.
2-I play the card under the chip.
3-I put another card under the chip, (for next turn) leaving me with only 2 cards in my hand.
4-I finish all unit actions.
5-I draw another Command card. (I know have 3 in my hand, and one under the Russian poker chip)


That was how we did it, but I feel like I should have had 4 cards in my hand.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Winnowski
United States
Upper St Clair
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I played this the other day. I did the exact same thing as you. But I came here for clarification because it's a bit unclear in the rulebook.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.