Jacob Ossar
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The RvI rules include both of the following passages on p. 3:

"A player is vulnerable to the Rebel Alliance's takeover power if he has at least on Imperium card in his tableau."

"Place a light-red/purple cube once you put a Rebel military world/Imperium card respectively in your tableau."

The first passage seems clear enough, so I'm probably being too literal-minded here, but the absence of any mention of taking the purple cube off of your slider in the second passage gets me wondering whether this omission is significant. Perhaps the Imperium doesn't tolerate quislings, so that even a tableau with no Imperium cards in it currently is vulnerable to takeovers by the Rebel Alliance if at some point it contained a (now-discarded) Imperium Cloaking Technology card?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Linneman
Canada
Vancouver
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The sliders are just there to help you glance at other players' tableaux and easily see their vulnerabilities vis-a-vis takeovers. The rules are clear on the matter. If the player has no Imperium cards, either because they never played one or discarded one they had previously played, they are not vulnerable to the takeover power of Rebel Alliance.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Bell
United States
Eugene
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
As far as I can tell, the requirements depend entirely on the state of your tableau. The slider is only there as a visual aid for the other players. So even if the rules forgot to have you remove the cube, it doesn't change the fact that you are no longer vulnerable.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
The slides and cubes are used to *track* Military and takeover vulnerabilities. The cubes, themselves, are not the conditions.

The takeover vulnerability conditions are both stated individually and repeated on the top of RvI page 4: "A player with either no military worlds or with only non-Rebel military worlds, no Imperium cards, and only temporary and/or specialized Military is not vulnerable to takeovers."

So, if you have once had an Imperium card and no longer have it, then clearly, you are not vulnerable to the Rebel Alliance takeover power.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.