Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

BattleLore» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about collecting "Lore" tokens rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steven Heinrich
United States
Fort Worth
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Contact me to play a RPG forum game!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We've been working our way through the scenarios and have gotten to the one teaching "Lore".

On page 54 it states "When rolling a Lore symbol in battle, if this Lore is not already dedicated to some other usage (Lore card's effect, Creature power-up or special power, etc...)"

I've read and reread the rules trying to figure out if this means that you collect Lore tokens each time you roll Lore symbols, but don't use the dice in conjunction with a Lore card or if you only collect the tokens at the end of your turn?

Thanks in advance.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Palmer
Canada
Ayr
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You collect lore whenever you roll a lore symbol.

The exception is if that lore symbol is being used in some other way.

For instance, some spells say that you hit if you roll a lore symbol. If that's the case, then you don't collect lore if you roll a lore symbol for that spell.

Or if a creature gets something extra if you roll a lore when it attacks, then you don't collect lore from lore symbols when that creature attacks.

However, in all other rolls, you do collect lore when the lore symbol is rolled.

Does that make more sense?
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jiing Lin
Taiwan
New Taipei City
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
heinrichsteven wrote:
"When rolling a Lore symbol in battle, if this Lore is not already dedicated to some other usage (Lore card's effect, Creature power-up or special power, etc...)"


James's pretty much complete.
I would like to remind you another important point which is bold above.
So, you can't gather lore tokens according to the dice roll for panic loss check.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd Rewoldt
United States
Loveland
Colorado
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Felkor wrote:

Or if a creature gets something extra if you roll a lore when it attacks, then you don't collect lore from lore symbols when that creature attacks.


Minor addendum here, that I think James intended as well: With creatures it is always a choice - if lore is rolled in battle with a particular creature, the controlling player has the option of either 1) using the lore as part of one of that creature's special abilities, or 2) storing that lore upon the creature (subject to any limits and/or restrictions that creature has about storing lore), or 3) placing a lore token in ones goblet for each lore rolled.

Quote:

However, in all other rolls, you do collect lore when the lore symbol is rolled.


Another minor and possibly unnecessary addendum: There are units who specifically do not collect lore when rolling for battle - obviously they do not collect lore upon such rolls.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.