Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Malaya: V-Mail Postcard Game #1» Forums » Rules

Subject: A couple questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrew Tullsen
United States
VANCOUVER
WA
flag msg tools
designer
48 hour turnaround time for Prototypes!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. When attacking, can your adjacent units support? As in, adjacent units in combat?

2. Do all units in combat (even those supporting) suffer the results of the combat?

3. If you support, that means you "attacked" and you can't move in phase 2, correct?

4. Roads are listed as a terrain feature - but what do they do?

5. What is a beach hex? Any hex on the outside of the island?

6. Can you move through your own units?

7. The Jap unit marked "5" as his entry turn - where does he come in?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
F H
United Kingdom
UK
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Howitzer_120mm wrote:
1. When attacking, can your adjacent units support? As in, adjacent units in combat?


Yes

Howitzer_120mm wrote:

2. Do all units in combat (even those supporting) suffer the results of the combat?


That's how I play

Howitzer_120mm wrote:

3. If you support, that means you "attacked" and you can't move in phase 2, correct?


Yes

Howitzer_120mm wrote:

4. Roads are listed as a terrain feature - but what do they do?


They don't effect combat or movement, except that British units must be on or adjacent to them.

Howitzer_120mm wrote:

5. What is a beach hex? Any hex on the outside of the island?


When I play, its not any sea hex, but rather the ones that have a significant amount of sand colour, such as 0807

Howitzer_120mm wrote:

6. Can you move through your own units?


Yes. The rules don't prohibit it.

Howitzer_120mm wrote:

7. The Jap unit marked "5" as his entry turn - where does he come in?


I play it as any beach hex.

2 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Tullsen
United States
VANCOUVER
WA
flag msg tools
designer
48 hour turnaround time for Prototypes!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
FNH1 wrote:
Howitzer_120mm wrote:
1. When attacking, can your adjacent units support? As in, adjacent units in combat?


Yes


So, you are saying that one combat might not happen if your units have to retreat after the first one?
So you can support 2+ different combats, and then fight in another combat in your own hex?

FNH1 wrote:

Howitzer_120mm wrote:

2. Do all units in combat (even those supporting) suffer the results of the combat?


That's how I play


So if it's "DR, DS", then all the defenders, including those supporting, have to take a step loss and retreat?
Ouch.


FNH1 wrote:

Howitzer_120mm wrote:

6. Can you move through your own units?


Yes. The rules don't prohibit it.


The rules do say that you cannot stack your own units. So I would think the answer would be No.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Howitzer_120mm wrote:
1. When attacking, can your adjacent units support? As in, adjacent units in combat?

Yes, 1/2 Combat, rounding down. Both sides, attacker and defender.

Quote:
2. Do all units in combat (even those supporting) suffer the results of the combat?

No. Combat is between units in the same hex. Adjacent units can support the combat. Combat Results are: Step loss (singular) and retreat (singular). There are no extra step losses/ retreats to "bleed over" to supporting units.

Quote:
3. If you support, that means you "attacked" and you can't move in phase 2, correct?

Yes.

Quote:
4. Roads are listed as a terrain feature - but what do they do?

Supply effects only.

Quote:
5. What is a beach hex? Any hex on the outside of the island?

No, only the hexes that are primarily beach as shown on the terrain example. Others are coastal hexes.

Quote:
6. Can you move through your own units?

No, stacking limit applies at all times.

Quote:
7. The Jap unit marked "5" as his entry turn - where does he come in?

Any beach hex.

1 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.