Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Tales of the Arabian Nights» Forums » Rules

Subject: Moving Destination while On Pilgramage rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Spencer Beni
United States
Sacramento
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If your destination marker is on a city due to a pilgramage, and you get an encounter that gives you the opportunity to enter a place of power (and therefore you have to move your destination marker to that space), what happens to your pilgramage?

Does the place of power now count as the space you need to get to for your destination (per the status, that space should be a city at least 3 spaces from Mecca)?

Do you pick a new Destination after you visit the place of power?

Or is the Pilgramage unable to be completed?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gunther Schmidl
Austria
Linz
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Hm. The old game had 2 Destination markers for that purpose.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jody Fletcher
United States
Newark
Delaware
flag msg tools
mbmb
Per the "NOTE:" on page 7 of the Rules book, ...(If you are told to move the Destination marker for any reason, any old opportunity is lost-even if the Destination marker is moved because of a status.)

The only Place of Power that appears to be a City is the one of Brass, so I would say no for the status requiring 3 spaces from Mecca. Perhaps City of Brass would be okay, but I doubt it. [EDIT: looking at the Legend at the back of the rules booklet, there are only the 4 city designs, the City of Brass has its own, so that also lends more credit to CoB NOT being a 'city'.]

Page 7 also says to move your Character to the space on the arrow (unless encounter says different.),

So Pilgrimage is lost per those rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MGS
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Warhammer: Diskwars
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
On a similar note, is Baghdad a city?

This question is important because of the Married status. Let's say your origin is Alexandria and you have an encounter in Mecca that gave you enough points to win the game. Can you go to Baghdad or do you have to go back to Alexandria first? And, how does it relate to the City of Brass argument above?

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Maroney
United States
Yonkers
New York
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ronaldo wrote:
On a similar note, is Baghdad a city?


For all purposes of rules, quests, statuses, & cetera which refer to a "city", Baghdad is a City. (Note that the Celestial Planisphere says that you can eliminate any unoccupied city except Baghdad or Mecca.)

The City of Brass is a Place of Power, not a City.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.