Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Battlestar Galactica: The Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: BRIG rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ray Diebel
United States
Phildelphia
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Very little is said in the rules about the Brig. Instead, the gameboard space tells you the rules that apply. Crisis cards do not apply to a character in the Brig. However, a player can escape the brig via a successful skill check. Once he's out of the brig and in a location of hs choice.....does a Crisis occur in thghat same game turn.

We presumed that the Cirsis DOES occur, and it seemed like balanced gameplay. Please advise.

Also - Sick Bay limits skill cards distributed...but the brig doesn't. Correct? Seems reasonable. If you're sick, your not "capable." If you are in the Brig, you are capable....but limited by your effectiveness....therfore only 1 skill card may be played. This isn't so much a question as it is a request for confirmation!

Thanks,
Ray
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
H-B-G
United Kingdom
Halesowen
West Midlands
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You seem to be correct in all particulars.

You do get a crisis on your turn if you get out of the brig.

You are limited in cards by starting in Sickbay and not in the brig and you can only play 1 to skill checks if you are in the brig.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ray Diebel
United States
Phildelphia
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
We were playing properly, it seems. And it did at the time, too...since the game play was balanced and challenging.

Good stuff. Nice design. Very well calculated.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Davis
United States
New Concord
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just to be clear - Crisis cards can affect someone in the brig. For example, if the President is in the Brig, they might discard to a food shortage or water shortage. It's just that if you're in the brig, you don't draw a crisis card on your turn.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Clementson
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also be aware that it's the person who's turn it is that triggers whether a crisis card is drawn, not necessarily the person who leaves the brig (in the case of an XO for example).

The situation is that you have 2 people in the brig, player A and player B. It's player A's turn, he plays an XO on player B - player B activates the Brig and escapes. There is no crisis because player A is still in the Brig.

(This just happened in BSG-X and I screwed it up )
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Laporte
France
Limeil-Brevannes
Val de Marne
flag msg tools
Good point, it would be easy to make such a mistake.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.