Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Pursuit of Glory» Forums » Rules

Subject: Liberate Suez rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kristian Thy
Denmark
Taastrup
flag msg tools
Together, we are the United Nations
badge
Gunulfr ok Øgotr ok Aslakr ok Rolfr resþu sten þænsi æftir Ful, felaga sin, ær warþ ... døþr, þa kunungar barþusk.
Avatar
mb
The Liberate Suez event states: "2 OPS must be for Combat vs. AP units in Egypt."

There are three scenarios that allow activating a single space at 2 OPS in the Sinai:

1) If playing with optional rule 19.4, it is allowed to spend extra OPS on combat activations to help avoid severe weather. Activating a desert space in summer could cost 2 OPS at the CP player's choice.

2) In the unlikely event of having a multinational stack at Suez (only possible by having two Yildirim stack with a Turk).

3) Somehow being put in Limited Supply by the Arab Revolt.

I assume all three cases would allow playing Liberate Suez with just the one space activated for combat, but would like to hear an official answer.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Randall
Canada
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
Yes, all three cases would allow you to activate only a single space for combat. The card simply requires you to expend the 2 Ops points for combat against AP units in Egypt; it doesn't specify how to do this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Johns
United States
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry if this has been asked before, but what about using the sunussi tribes. Would that count also?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Larz Welo
United States
Las Cruces
New Mexico
flag msg tools
No more stones. No more spears. No more slings. No more swords. No more weapons! NO MORE SYSTEMS!
badge
You can fire your arrows from the Tower of Babel, but you can never strike God!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
All tribes can stack for free, so do not require extra OPS to activate in and of themselves. And, since they are always in full supply in any of the areas they can exist, they only require 1 OPS to activate unless part of a larger multinational stack.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristian Thy
Denmark
Taastrup
flag msg tools
Together, we are the United Nations
badge
Gunulfr ok Øgotr ok Aslakr ok Rolfr resþu sten þænsi æftir Ful, felaga sin, ær warþ ... døþr, þa kunungar barþusk.
Avatar
mb
... but yes, attacking with the Senussi definitely counts as one of the two OPS needed to Liberate Suez.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristian Thy
Denmark
Taastrup
flag msg tools
Together, we are the United Nations
badge
Gunulfr ok Øgotr ok Aslakr ok Rolfr resþu sten þænsi æftir Ful, felaga sin, ær warþ ... døþr, þa kunungar barþusk.
Avatar
mb
greatredwarrior wrote:
they only require 1 OPS to activate unless part of a larger multinational stack.


The Senussi, like other tribes, do not add to the number of nationalities in a stack. You may know this, but it's not readily apparent from your post.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
turbothy wrote:
greatredwarrior wrote:
they only require 1 OPS to activate unless part of a larger multinational stack.


The Senussi, like other tribes, do not add to the number of nationalities in a stack. You may know this, but it's not readily apparent from your post.


What greatredwarrior meant here, is should the Senussi somehow wind up in a stack with more than one nationality (which could only be 2 Yildirim 1 Senussi and a Turk, and if you have regular units stacked with the Senusis you are probably going to win soon), it would cost 2 Ops to activate that stack.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Larz Welo
United States
Las Cruces
New Mexico
flag msg tools
No more stones. No more spears. No more slings. No more swords. No more weapons! NO MORE SYSTEMS!
badge
You can fire your arrows from the Tower of Babel, but you can never strike God!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Philip. I'm not always clear. I actually once took Egypt totally, but didn't win till much later. The cost of my success in Eygpt was the complete loss of Caucasia. Ultimately though, I won because retaking Egypt was the primary goal of the British for the whole rest of the game, which kept him out of the Balkans and inactive in Mesopotamia. The Russians were a hard nut to crack though.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.