Recommend
7 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Fzzzt!» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rules Clarification rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ben Bateson
United Kingdom
Ross-on-Wye
flag msg tools
badge
Oi! Hands off...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules state that a re-shuffle and re-deal of your discard pile mid-auction round is only permissible when ALL players have run out of cards.

Presumably, then, once there is only one player with cards remaining, he simply 'buys' the remaining conveyor belt cards for one (or more) robots apiece. What if he has one remaining card and it is his mechanic? Does he win a robot with a zero bid, or is he permitted to discard it? This sort of situation is particularly common in 2-player games, of course.

Also, is it permitted to discard unwanted Production Units? Picking up a PU on the last round would be an expensive mistake otherwise.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gareth
Switzerland
Zürich
Zürich
flag msg tools
badge
My ass is green, but I don't let it worry me.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ousgg wrote:
The rules state that a re-shuffle and re-deal of your discard pile mid-auction round is only permissible when ALL players have run out of cards.

Presumably, then, once there is only one player with cards remaining, he simply 'buys' the remaining conveyor belt cards for one (or more) robots apiece. What if he has one remaining card and it is his mechanic? Does he win a robot with a zero bid, or is he permitted to discard it? This sort of situation is particularly common in 2-player games, of course.

Yes, he will continue to win auctions with his remaining cards, and can even win an auction with the mechanic (since 0 will technically be the highest bid). However, he may want to get other players into the bidding and so may intentionally pay more for something to trigger the redeal.

ousgg wrote:
Also, is it permitted to discard unwanted Production Units? Picking up a PU on the last round would be an expensive mistake otherwise.

Sorry, no discarding, that's part of the charm. Bear in mind, you still get to allocate all of your robots to PUs at the end of the game (even ones in hand) so it may not be so bad to get on at the end.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Bateson
United Kingdom
Ross-on-Wye
flag msg tools
badge
Oi! Hands off...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Capoeirista wrote:

Bear in mind, you still get to allocate all of your robots to PUs at the end of the game (even ones in hand) so it may not be so bad to get on at the end.


Ah - I must have missed that bit out on first reading. What an intriguing little game.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony Boydell
United Kingdom
Newent. Glos
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Every homo sapiens needs an outbuilding within the curtelage of their property
badge
Welcome...to my Shed!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules state that a re-shuffle and re-deal of your discard pile mid-auction round is only permissible when ALL players have run out of cards.

Presumably, then, once there is only one player with cards remaining, he simply 'buys' the remaining conveyor belt cards for one (or more) robots apiece. What if he has one remaining card and it is his mechanic? Does he win a robot with a zero bid, or is he permitted to discard it? This sort of situation is particularly common in 2-player games, of course.

TB: Yes you win with a ZERO bid (mechanic OR expansion)


Also, is it permitted to discard unwanted Production Units? Picking up a PU on the last round would be an expensive mistake otherwise.

TB: No - you can't just discard it - what you could do is bid everything on the prior card and then players would redeal for 6 cards and have to bid on the PU in question! Remember, you must bid a MINIMUM of one card - there's nothing stopping you blowing everything on a robot card to stay out of trouble for the rest of the round!
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.