I played this game for the first time this past weekend. A question came up about the 3E trains. The rules weren't clear on this.
Which of these interpretations is correct?
a) The train runs like an 1830 Diesel, except that all towns/villages are not counted. The total value is then doubled. (Does this run have to be between two off-board points?)
b) The train runs as a 3+3E - count only the three highest valued cities on the run, then double that.
When combining the 3E description:
"The 3E trains count only the main stations and external connections; however the revenue of those is doubled."
with the bullet point on valid routes:
"The maximum length of the route is the number on the train, only main stations and external connections count; small green stations only count for the revenue"
I'd say that the rules suggest it's just a 3 + 3 train, since every train effectively gets to ignore small stations except for revenue. Note that the 3E train gets nothing from small stations at all, and just doubles the value of 3 of the main stations/offboards.
Nothing to suggest it must touch off-board locations, let alone two.
- Last edited Mon Jul 20, 2009 5:59 pm (Total Number of Edits: 1)
- Posted Mon Jul 20, 2009 5:57 pm