Subject: Playing Russia in the S'43 (Kursk) Scenario rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Montgomery
United States
Joliet
Illinois
flag msg tools
Dear Geek: Please insert the wittiest comment you can think of in this text pop-up. Then times it by seven.
badge
The Coat of Arms of Clan Montgomery - Scotland. Yes, that's a woman with the head of a savage in her hand, and an anchor. No clue what it means, but it's cool.
mbmbmbmbmb
Just fishing or any strategy advice about how to play the Russians in the S'43 (Kursk) scenario. I just started playing EFII about two weeks ago, and my opponent and I are both new to the game. We followed the suggestion in the rulebook that two beginning players should try to play this scenario.

The problem is, the Germans have won the scenario twice, now. I played the Germans, and the first game was a Decisive Victory while the second game was a Major Victory. My opponent (and I) are perplexed at what the Russians could have done to win the scenario.

In the first game, we did make some mistakes, but even accounting for those errors, the Germans would have won a minor victory at a minimum.

In the second game, neither of us could figure out what the Russian should do.

What have been other players' experiences with this scenario? What are some good Russian strategies, if any?

It just seems like the Germans can't really lose this one... at least the way we've been playing it.

Thanks for any feedback.

Chris

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lin Parkh
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
I had the same experience several times. I recommend you try the 41 scenario.
Also there is a computer implementation of this boardgame that allows PBEM.
Vassal too I think.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rusty McFisticuffs
United States
Arcata
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb