Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Christian Marcussen
Denmark
Odense C
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Disclaimer: The following contains images which are part of the prototype art of the game. Please do not upload any of it as it contains images with uncleared rights not meant to be part of the final game. They are used for illustrative purposes only! Secondly I have once again had the audacity of posting both in the design forum and in the games forum. Although it has come to me attenion that I have a few people subscribed to the game, I think it could be of interest to people frequenting the design forum - people who would not see it if it were only posted in the game's pages. So please excuse me on that one.

Designing Clash of Cultures: Part 2, Modular Board
Part 1, Technologies: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/417484

Modular Board
Pretty early I decided I would prefer a modular board. I did however strongly consider going with the classic Mediterranean/West Asia map. In many ways this would be a very sensible approach. After all, the Fertile Crescent is located there, and the area has seen some of the world’s largest, most famous civilizations (not to mention most influential on western culture). However using this would invoke a historic feel, and perhaps raise expectations of a more scripted and historic progress of things that I was not interested in. I wanted lots of variety from game to game, and for more free reigns in regards to how cultures would develop.

Having a modular board though, does presents all kinds of potential issues – some which I could easily avoided by having a non-modular board. But, I was pretty adamant about the modular board and tried overcome some of the issues with modular boards.

Here are the issues as I saw them:

1) Game Balance: There is a risk that random terrain/resources skewing a game too heavily to some players benefit or dis-benefit, in effect, deciding the outcome of the game.