Hey there. Have read tons of great posts here. Another new player of AH and yes I have read tons of rules summerys and FAQs. My eyes are going buggy!
However, I must still not be understanding something. With 2 invistigators, at game start you have 2 gates already open by the time the second characters upkeep phase. (one during set up and one on phase 4 of first players turn.) If you draw a different gate opening everytime in mythos phase that only gives each invistigator 4 turns total before game end! How is that enough time to do anything, let alone collect 6 clue tokens for a gate seal? Or do ALL invistigators get upkeep, move, encounter, ect. together and then only draw 1 Mythos card for the group during the last phase? Why am I so confused by this?
Matt - playing it correctly will be a whole different circle of "Hell on Earth". The game is sentient, like the One Ring. It knows what you want, and it knows what you dread. You will get none of the former, and a heaping ton of the latter.