Subject: How to speed things up, while making it feel less random? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Luc VC
Belgium
Brugge
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I've played Titan 5 times now, plus some Colossus games.
So I'm still a noob here. But how many games should you have played for it to shine and go smoothly?

I really like the flow of the game, and I do believe that there's something really great in there. But how to get it out?

Most complaints are:
* Player elimination.
But I knew that before I bought the game.
Maybe that was my biggest mistake. (Nostalgia of the Heroes of Might
and Magic, Ogre battle and Warsong got me ;p)

* Movement feels random and goes slowely (to figure out what the
possibilities are.) Sometimes it's pretty hard to actually get into
combat.

Maybe I'm completely missing something, in which case, please enlighten me.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Pour Away,Mein Host
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
One sure way to speed things up is to play a two-player game. Although Titan is a multi-player game, I've found it to be very enjoyable with only two. Plus, that takes the whole player elimination problem out of the equation.
Another way to get into the action more quickly is to do what the rules suggest as one of the variants: remove the low level tower creatures from the game completely and make the Ranger, Troll, and Lion the new tower creatures. This allows for faster mustering of the "big guys".
Also, one of the classic newbie "problems" is that they spend way too much time circling the board while mustering and trying to build the perfect stack. This can bog down the game a lot. As you play more, you'll find ways to force your opponent into battles, building up points, strengthening your Titan, and then being able to go for a quicker kill.

Hope this helps. Titan is an amazing game; I hope you stick with it.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Sachau
Germany
Kiel
flag msg tools