Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

The Longest Day» Forums » Rules

Subject: The Longest Day--Coastal Arty rules rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mac McCaffrey
United States
Arlington
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Over on CSW there is a running discussion about Coastal Arty fire during the invasion turn. I'm quite sure that each Coastal Arty unit fire during each phase of the invasion turn. Others think that while coastal arty as a class can fire in each phase, each unit can only fire once. I'm pretty sure that AH definitively answered this question once. Can anybody provide a cite to that answer (and of course the answer itself?)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Sweeney
United States
Clinton Township
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
E. GERMAN COASTAL ARTILLERY
Historically, coastal artillery guns were designed to engage naval targets at sea, exclusively. They were not equipped to act as field artillery against an enemy force already ashore. German coastal artillery units were a major potential threat to the invading Allied forces.
1. German coastal artillery batteries are positioned on the mapboard in those hexes containing printed coastal artillery symbols. Only those units with the coastal artillery symbol may function in that role, except that both the German railway artillery units may be used as coastal artillery (invert them to expose the work ‘FIRED’ after they are used as coastal artillery).
2. Each coastal artillery unit may only fire at Allied units in beach or port landing boxes.
3. During the invasion turn, coastal artillery units fire 3 times in the Allied player’s turn (see 4.b below). On all subsequent turns, coastal artillery units fire at the end of the Allied air/naval phase
after the Allied player is finished moving and firing his air and naval counters in that phase.

4. Each coastal artillery unit may fire at ALL enemy units that occupy beach or port landing boxes within range during a single phase.
a. Coastal artillery fire is resolved on the Bombardment Table. Each coastal artillery strength point is equal to one naval gunfire strength point. A ‘D’ result means that a unit, other than a US artillery group, suffers an immediate one-step loss and is disrupted. US artillery groups do not lose a step, but are double disrupted instead and may not land that turn, nor may another unit land instead of them. Supply units are inverted to half-strength, but may be used normally in the same turn.
b. Each coastal artillery unit may attack each and every beach or port landing box within range, one unit at a time. Each Allied unit, however, may only be attacked ONCE per turn. Therefore, coastal artillery strength points firing into a landing box must be totaled into one combined strength for resolution on the Bombardment Table. SPECIAL: During the invasion turn, German coastal artillery units may fire upon each landing box during the Allied beach assault phase, the Allied follow-up phase, and the Allied build-up phase. Each landing
box, however, may be attacked only once per phase.
c. Beginning 7 June (HOUSE RULE: This applies to 6 June as well), subtract ‘1’ from the die roll for coastal artillery fire when determining the loss of a step (but not for determining disruption). This means that a unit can sometimes be disrupted without losing a
step. HOUSE RULE: Coastal artillery fire vs HQ’s is modified as follows: First disruption roll disrupts the HQ unit. A second die is then rolled. If this roll results in a disruption, the HQ is eliminated and subject to replacement per IX.D.7.26.
5. Coastal Artillery Supply: Coastal artillery units, except the railway units, are considered to be in supply at all times. They do not consume supply nor are they required to trace a supply route to an
HQ unit, but railway artillery units expend a supply step if they fire at units in more than one landing box.

This is the closest I was able to come...hope it helps...I seem to remember firing the CSW everytime units tried to land... (man has it been a LONG time since I played!).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mac McCaffrey
United States
Arlington
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Thanks dudes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.