Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Babylon 5 Component Game System: Core Sets» Forums » Rules

Subject: Psi Corps faction? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Daniel U. Thibault
Canada
Québec
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Psi Corps set comes with the same Earth/Mars starting hex as the Earth Alliance faction. So, how do you play with both? Surely there cannot be two Earths in play!?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Flane
United States
Aliso Viejo
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From the B5 CGS FAQ:

32. Psi Corps and the Earth Alliance homeworlds.

Q: If the Psi Corps and the Earth Alliance are both in the game, do they share a base on Earth & Mars, or do they have a base at each of those places.

A: Each player will start with an earth map piece as their homeworld. Each player will place their homeworld in their starting position. There can be 2 Earth homeworld map tiles in the map the same way their can be 2 Wolf 5's from two different players.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel U. Thibault
Canada
Québec
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
flaney wrote:
From the B5 CGS FAQ:

32. Psi Corps and the Earth Alliance homeworlds.

Q: If the Psi Corps and the Earth Alliance are both in the game, do they share a base on Earth & Mars, or do they have a base at each of those places.

A: Each player will start with an earth map piece as their homeworld. Each player will place their homeworld in their starting position. There can be 2 Earth homeworld map tiles in the map the same way their can be 2 Wolf 5's from two different players.


That feels very unsatisfactory. They should have come up with a clever way of having both players (Earth Alliance and Psi Corps) somehow at once collaborating (sharing some resources) *and* being at each other's throats, just like in the series. Yes, that would be tricky to pull off -- but it would be so much fun!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel U. Thibault
Canada
Québec
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
flaney wrote:
From the B5 CGS FAQ:


...And how come the FAQ is not in BGG's links list?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel U. Thibault
Canada
Québec
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
flaney wrote:
From the B5 CGS FAQ:
32. Psi Corps and the Earth Alliance homeworlds.


Actually, Googling for the above sentence returns NO HITS. Where is the FAQ? If you have it, please, please upload a copy!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Flane
United States
Aliso Viejo
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's in the file section.

enjoy
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steye
Netherlands
Nijmegen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
How about..

Bases
Psi Corps has a base on Syria Planum, on Mars. So.. that's where the Psi Corps base could go. And the Earth Alliance base should be placed on Earth itself.

Income
Both Psi Corps and EA get the full income from Earth and Mars. You might think this is overpowered (both 'empires' defending one homeworld mappiece) but they'll have to compete for control of new locations from the beginning of the game. Other empires will be able to colonize locations more freely.

Alliance
- Psi Corps and EA have an alliance from the beginning of the game, much like a Vorlon player can form an alliance during the game.
- They cannot attack each other untill there is a Civil War.
- The Civil War starts when (?).

Influence
- Psi Corps could influence the EA player (and only the EA player!), much like a Shadow player would during the game.
- The effects of influence could range from not being able to attack a PC token, allowing PC ships to repair at a EA base, to a base or ship 'switching' sides.
- The influence could be countered like the Shadow / Vorlon tokens, by 'resisting the PC': throw 1B5 on a 5 remove the influence token.


Well, these are just a few untested ideas. What do you think?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.