8 Posts

Paths of Glory» Forums » Sessions

Subject: Illustrated Session Report - 'Breakthrough in Italy' rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Australia
NSW
flag msg tools
Menin Gate at Midnight, Will Longstaff, 1927.
badge
"At the landing, and here ever since" - Anzac Book, p. 35.
mbmbmbmbmb

One of the things I love most about PoG is that sense of wanting to improve one's game through replay, the feeling after every game that I want to start playing again as soon as possible and try something new, reflect on mistakes I made and correct them in my next game. I wanted to write a session report reflecting on the decisions made in my last game.

I'm probably at an intermediate skill level, and I think my opponent in this game was of a similar level, so it was a very close matchup. There is much I am still learning about this game and the strategies involved. Thus my comments and lessons below may not be the best advice (and may be plain bad). I would, however, invite feedback on how both my opponent and I could have handled the situations better.

This was a http://www.wargameroom.comgame, played for 18 turns (to Summer 1918) in a little over three hours. I love www.wargameroom.com for this very reason - almost a full game in just a few hours. A face-to-face game for 18 turns could go for 7-8 hours (or more), whilst a pbem game of 18 turns could go for months. The wargameroom program (credit to Bruce Wigdor) automates die rolls, card effects, and other aspects of the game, thus speeding things up considerably. I've recreated the situations using the vassal engine (it looks prettier for the photos). The wargameroom program looks like this:

I played the Central Powers (CP), whilst my opponent played the Allied Powers (AP).