Trevor Schadt
United States
Glenshaw
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The text on Falcon Point says that a player may pay $2 to "move to any aquatic location and have an encounter there."

Let's say (as this was the situation that inspired the question) that the location in question is Devil Reef, where there just happens to be an open Gate to the Dreamlands.

* During Phase 2, Arkham Movement, player moves to Falcon Point, pays his $2 to "move to (Devil Reef) and have an encounter there." The encounter, of course, is to dive into the Gate. The player is not delayed because the Gate did not open under him.

* During Phase 3, Otherworld Movement, player moves from Space 1 of the Dreamlands to Space 2.

* During Phase 5, Otherworld Encounters, player has his first Otherworld encounter on Space 2 of the Dreamlands.

* Next turn, during Phase 3, Otherworld Movement, player moves from Space 2 of the Dreamlands back to Arkham. This allows the player to have traversed an Otherworld while only having one encounter, a feat which (as I understand it) is counter to the intent of the game design.

What did we do wrong? Or was this an oversight on the part of the developers?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Phase 2 you did correctly except move to the OW.

Phase 3 is the "Arkham Encounter Phase" NOT the "OW Movement Phase." The "encounter" is moving through the gate.

Phase 4 is the "OW encounter" and it should be your first encounter in the first area.

Phase 5 is the Mythos.

On the next turn, you would move during Phase 2 Movement phase from the first area to the second area. Phase 3 you would skip (for that investigator) since it is an Arkham encounter phase and you are no longer in Arkham.

Phase 4 you would have your second ecnounter in the second space of the OW.

On the thrid turn Phase 2 you would return to Arkham.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rauli Kettunen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think the speculation was that Falcon Point was originally "instead of an encounter" and got changed to movement phase, but the "have an encounter there" wasn't removed. Since FP is a movement phase ability, if you move to D. Reef and there is a gate and monster(s) there, you have to deal with those monsters. If it had been "instead of an encounter", you would've bypassed those monsters for a free ride into the gate (minus $2 of course).
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.