Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Arkham Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: When do you get an explored counter? And do Elder signs affect monsters? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Daniel G
msg tools
Hi,

We've come up with two questions that we haven't been able to find answers to:

1) What is needed for a player to get an explored counter when he/she returns from another world? Is it neccessary for the investigator to go through both parts of the world and then come back or is it enough to be sent back earlier?

2) After returning through a gate with a monster and sealing it with an elder sign, will that affect the monster (kill it?) or do the investigator need to deal with the monster? Also, can monsters enter locations that have previously been sealed with elder signs or do they lose their movement?

Thanks a lot for any suggestions!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gabe Covert
United States
Lexington
KY
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
laseruno wrote:
Hi,

We've come up with two questions that we haven't been able to find answers to:

1) What is needed for a player to get an explored counter when he/she returns from another world? Is it neccessary for the investigator to go through both parts of the world and then come back or is it enough to be sent back earlier?


Just come back... Honestly, we've never ever used these in the 3 years I've been playing AH with my gaming group...

laseruno wrote:
2) After returning through a gate with a monster and sealing it with an elder sign, will that affect the monster (kill it?) or do the investigator need to deal with the monster? Also, can monsters enter locations that have previously been sealed with elder signs or do they lose their movement?


No, the elder sign doesn't affect them. They will ignore you the turn you come back from the outer world, though, regardless of whether you seal the gate, with or without the elder sign.

Additionally, nothing prohibits them from moving into a location with an elder sign, other than the fact that normal movement will never let them enter a location.

ninja
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel G
msg tools
Ok, thanks! Guess we need to do some more reading in the rule book until next time ;-)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Pilkus
United States
South Riding
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Unless of course the symbol on the monster card matches the recently closed/sealed gate ~ then it's bye-bye monster!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Zeb Ulon

Oxford
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
laseruno wrote:

1) What is needed for a player to get an explored counter when he/she returns from another world? Is it neccessary for the investigator to go through both parts of the world and then come back or is it enough to be sent back earlier?


As clarified by Kevin on FFG forums, you get an explored counter every time you come back from Other World using the normal way (from 2nd area), through an encounter that says "Return to Arkham" or using a spell like Find Gate, whichever area you are when this happens. Exception: there is one (or more ?) OW encounter that says "Go to Black Cave". In that case you spat out using an unexpected exit without receiving the explored token. The key sentence to receive the explored token is: "Return to Arkham".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.