Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

The Longest Day» Forums » Rules

Subject: British Mulberry rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason Roach
United States
Baltimore
Maryland
flag msg tools
mb
There was a bit of a debate over on Consim regarding the British Mulberry, if they fail to take Item Green.

Basically, if the British don’t take "Item Green" in the beach Assault (at best it’s 50/50) and create a BH marker, when they eventually do take and clear the hex on a subsequent turn, can they then begin building the Mulberry and set the counter on the turn record track by that date?

There was something that a person compiled on questions that he had sent to AH which was posted on webgrog that said no; but, this seems to be a big change from what is in the rules and there does not seem to be any consensus, in part because it also seems illogical.

Does anyone have or know what the official “official” word is from AH on this issue?

Thanks,

-Jason
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Roach
United States
Baltimore
Maryland
flag msg tools
mb
I suppose the basic question is this: “Can you create Mulberries without creating a BH Marker during the Initial Assault Phase of the beach landings?”

Thanks,

-Jason
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Owen
United States
Norwich
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I can't think of any realistic reason why the failure of that specific beach to fall in the initial assault should prevent later construction of a Mulberry there, so it seems to me that intepretation is a jarring bit of "gaminess" that's not consistent with the game's level of realism.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Roach
United States
Baltimore
Maryland
flag msg tools
mb
wargamer55 wrote:
I can't think of any realistic reason why the failure of that specific beach to fall in the initial assault should prevent later construction of a Mulberry there, so it seems to me that intepretation is a jarring bit of "gaminess" that's not consistent with the game's level of realism.



Seth,

I agree, but there seems to be some contrary errata out there on this that states that if you don't get a BH, you don't get the Mulberry, even if control the connecting beach later in the game.

Again, this does seem odd, so it would be good to see if that errata which was posted on Webgrog is accurate.

-Jason
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stan Grossman
United States
Kerrville
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The "Mulberry Rule" that requires a specific BH to be taken
for placement comes from unpublished errata submitted by
Paul Smith, which may be found both on CSW and Grognards.

However, it is in conflict with the rules as written, and
as errata/clarifications NOT published in The General, I
don't find it to be "official" and don't use it. Of course,
players are "free" to use whatever errata/rule sources they
are comfortable with.

I am in the process of creating two TLD documents.

The first is simply a TLD Consolidated Errata file in Word format.
It will by necessity be an on-going project, but the goal is
to get together as much TLD errata, from the "official" stuff
published in THE GENERAL, to less official sources. All will
be documented as best I can as to source, etc.

If ANYONE has TLD errata that would like to submit (to the
best of my knowledge, I have all the original THE GENERAL
errata), you can contact me here, or in the TLD folder on CSW.

The second project is to fold/add in all the official published
errata from THE GENERAL into the main body of the core
original rules as written. My goal is to keep the original rules
(plus official errata) as much intact as possible or feasible.
It will NOT be a 2nd Ed. set of rules as such, but more like
a TLD Classic Edition that again, includes the RAW plus official
AH errata (as published in THE GENERAL). Any "changes" will be
limited to making sure the text/rules are clear, and if in that
effort any non-official sources are consulted, they will be
clearly marked and cited in the rules. I will also have a
section on OPTIONAL or House Rules, but they will be totally
SEPARATE from the main body of the rules, and of course...optional!

Again, if anyone cares to contribute or comment, post your comments
here, or at the TLD folder on CSW.

Stan




3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.