Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Battlestar Galactica: The Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: two rule questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rene Wenzel
Austria
Graz
Österreich
flag msg tools
1. what is happening, if the last character is sent in the brig? in our game william adama was sent in the brig as the last human. the title then was assigned to the next in the line of succession, which was also in the brig. was that wrong?

2. Getting an executive order and leaving the brig in your first action, do you then have a second action?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris K.
Germany
Berlin
Berlin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Dan!

Minor correction: According to the FAQ it is not necessarily so that the last person to go into the brig retains the title. If everyone is in the brig it goes to character with the highest position in the chain of command.

However, you are correct in that the first person to leave does indeed immediately get the admiral title and will also retain it, even if another person who is higher in the chain leaves the brig afterwards.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cactus god
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
chrisdk wrote:
Hi Dan!

Minor correction: According to the FAQ it is not necessarily so that the last person to go into the brig retains the title. If everyone is in the brig it goes to character with the highest position in the chain of command.

However, you are correct in that the first person to leave does indeed immediately get the admiral title and will also retain it, even if another person who is higher in the chain leaves the brig afterwards.


Confirmed. The last person to enter the brig would give the title to the highest person in command. Then the first person to leave the brig would claim the admiral title.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
H H
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
DCAnderson wrote:
humankapital wrote:

2. Getting an executive order and leaving the brig in your first action, do you then have a second action?
Yes.


As rules stated, I think it's not prohibited. But the executive order card grants someone who does not move with a two-action reward, that's to say someone who doesn't "choose" somewhere to do something. When someone leaves the Brig, he can go anywhere on Galactica, meaning he has a choice to do one specific action, like activating a location. So it becomes an one-movement-plus-two-actions turn instead of "one movement, then one action" or "no movement, two actions" options on the card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gerry Smit
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
hdb07 wrote:
DCAnderson wrote:
humankapital wrote:

2. Getting an executive order and leaving the brig in your first action, do you then have a second action?
Yes.


As rules stated, I think it's not prohibited. But the executive order card grants someone who does not move with a two-action reward, that's to say someone who doesn't "choose" somewhere to do something. When someone leaves the Brig, he can go anywhere on Galactica, meaning he has a choice to do one specific action, like activating a location. So it becomes an one-movement-plus-two-actions turn instead of "one movement, then one action" or "no movement, two actions" options on the card.
Not quite. When you start in the brig you cannot move. So when you get XO'd your first Action is "Activate your location" (the brig), which causes a skill check to be performed. If the skill check is successful, you are moved to any other location (on Galactica). There you take another Action.

So with an XO it's
1) Action: Activate Brig, which if successful, moves you to somewhere else.
2) another Action.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
H H
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
GerryRailBaron wrote:

Not quite. When you start in the brig you cannot move. So when you get XO'd your first Action is "Activate your location" (the brig), which causes a skill check to be performed. If the skill check is successful, you are moved to any other location (on Galactica). There you take another Action.

So with an XO it's
1) Action: Activate Brig, which if successful, moves you to somewhere else.
2) another Action.


I totally agree with you the fact that it's the Brig location that includes the movement. What I was trying to say that it's not that "you're moved" to any other location on Galactica after the successful skill check, but it's "you move" to any other location, the location of your choice.

1) XO someone in the brig to force a jump at FTL:
1.1) leave brig,
1.2) go to FTL,
1.3) force.
2) XO someone in the lab to do the same thing:
2.1) go to FTL,
2.2) force a jump.

The first scenario is much more interesting than the second because of the same effectiveness plus the fact of getting one more out of brig.
That leaves us the fact that XO someone in the Brig is more beneficial than XO someone elsewhere, of course while assuming that the skill check passes.

Some may say that, well the skill check can fail, but in common sense, you won't risk to waste an action to XO someone if you're not confident of getting him out.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James McMurray
msg tools
Even if the check passes, you've burned cards that could have been used elsewhere, and having the president demand someone be released from the brig is very thematically appropriate.

XO for someone at or going to the hanger bay also gives extra actions. It's not that big a deal.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andre
Germany
41472 Neuss
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I also think thast the rules are fine. You paid the movement with cards :)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.