Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

StarCraft: The Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Assist unit in combat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ender
Estonia
Tallinn
Estonia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In case I get attacked in an area where there is only one assist unit, what then happens? We solved the situation by determining that a blind card will be drawn from the top of the combat deck which will provide power attack and defense figures; also, I used an assist card (Psionic Storm for High Templar) and, all in all, the battle resulted in my little High Templar won a Reaver supported by Zealot.
Is that correct? Can assist units battle?

Another situation is with a Queen - in case this unit gets attacked, it is possible to use a technology which forces the opponent to destroy a unit, no matter the result of the battle.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evgeny Reznikov
Israel
Haifa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Starcraft Rules wrote:
Exception: If all of a player’s units in a given battle have the assist keyword, that player chooses one of those units to be his front-line unit. Such a battle will therefore have only one skirmish. The rest of that player’s assist units will be supporting units in that one skirmish.


You still play cards as normally, but the assist unit will of course use the minor values.

Also in the rules wrote:
7. Specialty Support Icon: This icon only appears
on Reinforcement cards and will always be found in conjunction with one (or more) of the Unit Icons on the card. The presence of this icon simply indicates that the special ability of this Reinforcement card
can be used if the portrayed unit is the front-line unit OR a supporting unit in that skirmish. For example, on the Reinforcement card shown above, the special ability may be used as long as its player
has a Wraith or Ghost unit present in the skirmish, either as the front-line unit or as a supporting unit


So your reinforcement card works as normal.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mumu shanshi
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Not only does a front-line assist unit use minor values, but note that they have neither ground attack nor air attack, so their strength is irrelevant. The minor health value will determine if they survive the opponent's mobilize.

Therefore, there is no way for a front-line high templar to kill anything. In the base game, the only front-line assist units able to kill opponent units are Queen (spawn broodling) and Devourer (plague).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Sheppard
msg tools
mb
Mumu's right.
And btw:
siretsch wrote:
..blind card will be drawn from the top of the combat deck [..] also, I used an assist card [..]

If you mean "reinforcement card" when you say "assist card", then pay attention at page 30 in the manual, which says:
"..he may instead draw the top card of his Combat
deck. When drawing a Combat card from his Combat deck
in this way, a player may not look at the drawn card; it is
simply drawn and placed facedown to the skirmish.
[..]
A player may use this option for any or all of the skirmishes
in a battle, but may only play one card to the skirmish in
this way. A player may not play a card directly from
his Combat deck and then add a reinforcement card from
his hand."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.