Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Race for the Galaxy: The Gathering Storm» Forums » Rules

Subject: Goal Question - First to Discard at Round End rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Howard Wagner
United States
Odenton
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't know if this has been asked before. I can't find it. We had a situation in which during the last round of the game, a player obtained enough cards during consume to throw her over 10 cards in hand. The goal "First to discard at round end" was on the board and hadn't been taken. Since it was the last round, do we still discard prior to totaling the points, and thus give her the three points for that goal? Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Biodiesel
United States
Manassas
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you're supposed to discard cards at the end of the round, then the answer is "yes". If you discard at the beginning of the next round, then the answer is "no".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Saint Joseph
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
I would do all the things I have ever dreamed of doing. I would love to become a professional whistler.I'm pretty amazing at it now, but I wanna get, like, even better. Make my living out of it.
badge
Bffffttt, Pffffttt, Buuuuurtt........
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Pg 7 of the rules.
The Rules wrote:
The game ends at the end of the round (including discarding) in which:
So it seems clear to me that the player would earn the goal.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Howard Wagner
United States
Odenton
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
spearjr wrote:
Pg 7 of the rules.
The Rules wrote:
The game ends at the end of the round (including discarding) in which:
So it seems clear to me that the player would earn the goal.


I don't know how I missed that in the rules. Thanks. That answers the question.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This is also important for tiebreaks.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Biodiesel
United States
Manassas
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
byronczimmer wrote:
This is also important for tiebreaks.

I just had my first tie-break today in a game. I had 9 cards to my opponent's 4, so I won even though we were both at 26 points.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randall Bart
United States
Winnetka
California
flag msg tools
designer
Baseball been bery bery good to me
badge
This is a picture of a published game designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
byronczimmer wrote:
This is also important for tiebreaks.

Correct. Consider:

Player A ends with 30 points, 12 cards in hand, no goods on planets.
Player B ends with 30, points, 9 cards in hand, 2 goods on planets.

Player A discards to 10 in hand. Player B has 9 cards in hand plus 2 goods, which is 11. Player B wins.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.