Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Race for the Galaxy: The Gathering Storm» Forums » Rules

Subject: Improved Logistics 2-player Advanced Game rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Howard Wagner
United States
Odenton
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Maybe this has already been addressed, but if someone has Improved Logistics in his tableau and picks double settle, can he settle four worlds? Of course, he is pursuing the military strategy, which makes that possible.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Biodiesel
United States
Manassas
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep! Awesome card, especially for military players or players with Replicant Robots down. That player can only draw 1 bonus card for each phase in which he settled, though (as opposed to each planet settled).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes.

In this way, with 11 cards in tableau and your opponent calling Develop twice and you calling Settle twice, it is possible to end with a 17 card tableau (11 + dev + dev + world + world + world + world).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sappington wrote:
Yep! Awesome card, especially for military players or players with Replicant Robots down. That player can only draw 1 bonus card for each phase in which he settled, though (as opposed to each planet settled).


Settle Role: 1 rebate if any world was settled
Terraforming Robots & the other one that provide Settle Rebates: 1 rebate card PER world settled.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Biodiesel
United States
Manassas
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the clarification.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Serge Levert
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
byronczimmer wrote:
In this way, with 11 cards in tableau and your opponent calling Develop twice and you calling Settle twice, it is possible to end with a 17 card tableau (11 + dev + dev + world + world + world + world).


Or 19 with Hidden Fortress! :D One can dream...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt N

Pennsylvania
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can do it with some difficulty using replicant robots, or with incredible ease using replicant robots + contact specialist. It can be relatively easy to steal the production advantage away from your opponent if you have a full set of production worlds, and you'll get to exploit your opponent's produce phase as well.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
byronczimmer wrote:
Sappington wrote:
Yep! Awesome card, especially for military players or players with Replicant Robots down. That player can only draw 1 bonus card for each phase in which he settled, though (as opposed to each planet settled).


Settle Role: 1 rebate if any world was settled
Terraforming Robots & the other one that provide Settle Rebates: 1 rebate card PER world settled.
Yeah, that's one of the beautiful situations. Get 3 cards for your 1st world for your first settle, then 2 cards for your 2nd world for your first settle (b/c you also have Terrforming Robots and Terraforming Guild.) So you build 4 worlds and get 10 cards back cool Your hand actually goes up by Settling all of those free worlds (discounts or military)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Colin Hunter
New Zealand
Auckland
flag msg tools
badge
Stop the admins removing history from the Wargaming forum.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ackmondual wrote:
byronczimmer wrote:
Sappington wrote:
Yep! Awesome card, especially for military players or players with Replicant Robots down. That player can only draw 1 bonus card for each phase in which he settled, though (as opposed to each planet settled).


Settle Role: 1 rebate if any world was settled
Terraforming Robots & the other one that provide Settle Rebates: 1 rebate card PER world settled.
Yeah, that's one of the beautiful situations. Get 3 cards for your 1st world for your first settle, then 2 cards for your 2nd world for your first settle (b/c you also have Terrforming Robots and Terraforming Guild.) So you build 4 worlds and get 10 cards back cool Your hand actually goes up by Settling all of those free worlds (discounts or military)

Yep one of the most broken combos if you can get it going, very sick.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Meyer
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
not as broken as the one card Alien Toy Shop combo
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alec Clair
France
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ackmondual wrote:


Settle Role: 1 rebate if any world was settled
Terraforming Robots & the other one that provide Settle Rebates: 1 rebate card PER world settled.Yeah, that's one of the beautiful situations. Get 3 cards for your 1st world for your first settle, then 2 cards for your 2nd world for your first settle (b/c you also have Terraforming Robots and Terraforming Guild.) So you build 4 worlds and get 10 cards back cool Your hand actually goes up by Settling all of those free worlds (discounts or military)


Just to be sure, What about timing?
If you get 3 cards for your first world played with IL:

a/ can you play or use any of them to pay for the second world allowed by IL

b/ you put the 3 extra cards temporarily aside, settle a second world with your hand and only then get the 3 cards (+2 new ones) in your hand once one of the settle action is completed.

I play a/ but I'm not so sure

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
deltarn wrote:
ackmondual wrote:


Settle Role: 1 rebate if any world was settled
Terraforming Robots & the other one that provide Settle Rebates: 1 rebate card PER world settled.Yeah, that's one of the beautiful situations. Get 3 cards for your 1st world for your first settle, then 2 cards for your 2nd world for your first settle (b/c you also have Terraforming Robots and Terraforming Guild.) So you build 4 worlds and get 10 cards back cool Your hand actually goes up by Settling all of those free worlds (discounts or military)


Just to be sure, What about timing?
If you get 3 cards for your first world played with IL:

a/ can you play or use any of them to pay for the second world allowed by IL

b/ you put the 3 extra cards temporarily aside, settle a second world with your hand and only then get the 3 cards (+2 new ones) in your hand once one of the settle action is completed.

I play a/ but I'm not so sure

It's 'a'. At this point, I've played enough games on Keldon's AI and Game Genie Server to back that up. IL changes the dynamic b/c for once, you can actually use your settle rebate(s) in the same settle phase.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.