Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Combat Commander: Pacific» Forums » Rules

Subject: Fire group question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sylvain Martel
Canada
Stoneham
Qc
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Do you need a leader present to do a fire group? It's not clear in the rules and in the play exemple there is a leader that activate all units.

We played it so that a leader is needed, but that also mean a Thompson is almost useless when there is no leader around. Are we palying this correctly?

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Kinwolf wrote:
Do you need a leader present to do a fire group?


No. You just need multiple pieces to be activated at the same time. There are a few different ways that can happen.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M·ANTONIVS·M·F·M·N
Canada
flag msg tools
badge
Mein Luftkissenfahrzeug ist voller Aale
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can activate one unit at a time without a leader . (rule 3.3.1.1)(page 7) check out rule O21.1 as well



rule 5.1 page 8 of CC:P rules Whenever a unit is activated, any weapon it possesses is activated along with it.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Pardoe
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
In general yes - In order to activate multiple units with a fire order, you need to activate a leader who in turn activates the units that will form the fire group.

There is one instance where you could form a fire group using multiple units without a leader and that is Opportunity Fire. Certainly for OpFire, you can activate a leader who in turn activates several units. But because OpFire is an ACTION, it is also possible to form a fire group by activating units individually via multiple Fire Action cards if no leader is present.

As for "clear in the rules" - look at O20.1...he activates one friendly unit..... As a fire group has multiple activated units, it is not possible to form one via an Order unless a leader is used.....If a leader is activated this way it may in turn activate any number of friendly non-leader units within its Command Radius to perform the same order.

Edit: Others have pointed out that a fire group can consist of a unit and its weapon which can both be activated and form a fire group without a leader. I was looking at fire groups formed from multiple units and missed this thrust of the question
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sylvain Martel
Canada
Stoneham
Qc
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, I see, so since the weapon and the unit are activated tgether, they can do a group fire. Same thing if you can somehow activate 2 units at the same time without a leader(haven't seen a card doing that, but we only played once so far). Ok, that clarifies things, thanks!

Edit: just saw the extra post about Op Fire, now I get the complete picture, thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
RPardoe wrote:
In general yes - In order to activate multiple units with a fire order, you need to activate a leader who in turn activates the units that will form the fire group.


He asked about a fire group, which could be just a unit and the weapon it's carrying.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Pardoe
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
DaviddesJ wrote:
He asked about a fire group, which could be just a unit and the weapon it's carrying.


Yes it can.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Drake Coker
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
badge
This is my tank for Combat Commander
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
RPardoe wrote:
DaviddesJ wrote:
He asked about a fire group, which could be just a unit and the weapon it's carrying.


Yes it can.


And if that weapon is a flamethrower, then it could be a group on fire, though that's a different thing. shake
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Edward Wehrenberg
United States
Unspecified
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
(chortle, chortle)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.