Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Magic: The Gathering» Forums » Rules

Subject: angelic benediction rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nick Bos
Finland
Helsinki
Uusimaa
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Heya, I have a problem with this card:




What is a target creature. Can I tap any creature of the opponent so it can't block?

Thanks in advance,

cheers!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tiago Nunes
Portugal
Odivelas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yup, if you do it in your declare attackers phase (that is, before your opponent chooses with which creatures he will block).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorge Montero
United States
St Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
I'll take Manhattan in a garbage bag. With Latin written on it that says "It's hard to give a shit these days"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In general, you can target any creature in play. However, there's situations where targetting a specific creature in play might be illegal.

For example,Troll Ascetic is untargettable by effects controlled by his controller's opponent, so you couldn't target your opponent's Troll Ascetic.

Also, you cannot target creatures that have protection from the card's effect. For example, a creature with protection from white would not be targettable by Angelic Benediction's tapping effect. You would also be unable to target a creature with protection from enchantments, like Tattoo Ward.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Bos
Finland
Helsinki
Uusimaa
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks a lot for the fast replies!

Really appreciated!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Short
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When a card says "target creature" it means that the effect is going to affect only one creature that you identify ahead of time (you "target" that creature). Some cards put restrictions on their target, such as "target tapped creature" or "target blue creature" which limits what creatures can be affected by that ability.

Also, some creatures have abilities that can protect themselves from abilities that target. Creatures with "shroud" cannot be chosen as the target of a spell or ability, and thus could not be affected. Also, Protection (such as "Protection from White") prevents a creature from being targeted by any spell or ability that it has protection from. For example, Black Knight has Protection from White so it cannot be targeted by Angelic Benediction's ability since it is a White enchantment.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.