Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
40 Posts
1 , 2  Next »   | 

Monopoly City» Forums » Rules

Subject: First-read rules questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Adam R. Wood
United States
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
I don't drink, I don't smoke, I don't do drugs... I play videogames, which I think is far superior an addiction than any of those other ones.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I see that Hasbro still hasn't found anyone in their enormous company that can properly write instructions. I should send them a bill every time I make a post like this. But without further ado, just looking at the board and reading through the rules and cards - not even attempting to play yet - I had the following questions:

1) This one is really a network of unseparable questions. Must you be able to physically fit a building (other than a railroad, natch) into its district's allocated space in order to build it there? Can buildings be freely moved around within their districts, and if not, can you decline merging of blocks or force opponents to merge them (when there are three or more of one type in a district)? I ask because I could, for example, have just three residential blocks in Middleton or Diamond Hills and obstruct a prison. It's hard to tell if the shapes of the districts were intended to have any meaning.

2) Are the buildings supposed to be a limited supply? If so, that decline/force question comes up again... Perhaps some types of buildings are limited and others aren't? Clearly, there are only two stadia and just the one Monopoly Tower, but from there...

3) The railroads... ugh. When you use a railroad and, as the rules say, "jump" to another district, is that to be considered synonymous with "advance"? That is, can GO be passed as a railroad is used? The Middleton Chance card is clear on this sort of point; you'd think the railroads would be. (Yes, the rules say "Use railroads to pass GO", but that could simply mean "Use railroads to help pass GO"... and judging by what I've read on BGG so far and my own instinct, I think I should HOPE this is what is meant!)

4) If you use a railroad on an unmortgaged district another player owns, and travel to another unmortaged district owned by an opponent (same opponent or different one, it shouldn't matter), are you paying rent for both? (The rules seem to support this fairly well, but it's weird.)

5) Can you have multiple bonus buildings in a district? Even if they're the same type? (Earthquake protection.)

6) Can you have multiple hazards in a district? Even if they're the same type? (That'd just be mean, but if there's a clear leader with a clear hotspot on the board...)

7) Can you have multiple railroads on a district? (Clearly this wouldn't add any new functionality, but that would be the point: the only reason someone would want to do this would be to avoid putting one on any new spaces, in order to keep rent-jumping routes to a minimum. Nothing that ever says to build a railroad says it's optional, so...)

8) If you draw the Inheritance Chance card when there are no unowned districts, do you still have to pay the inheritance tax despite, well, not getting an inheritance? The phrasing on the card is patently ambiguous, unlike all the other cards with an if-this-doesn't-apply clause.

9) I love this one: If you're on the Chance space between Summergate and Stoneside, and you draw the back-3-spaces card, do you collect your salary as you retreat? You do pass GO... albeit backwards....

10) This may be the worst ambiguity of them all: when and how often can deals be offered? It seems pretty pointless to have a timer on negotiation if you can always just attempt another deal whenever you'd like. The rules say you can try for a deal if you owe a rent you can't pay, but surely this wasn't intended to be the ONLY time trading is permitted... What exactly happens when the clock runs out on a trade? Anybody forced to do anything? Can you, say, immediately attempt a trade with a different opponent? I could ask about a hundred different variations of question about this.

11) On that note, is it possible to mortgage properties at a time other than when you can't afford a rent? The lack of an interest rate on mortgages may circumvent the old mortgage-everything-before-you-drop-out issue, but if you can mortgage and unmortgage at will without penalty, you can keep properties "floating", turning them on as players' pawns approach and off as they pass, making it difficult to actually finish opponents off (and apparently others here have figured this out and done this).

One last thing: I can't help but notice that there's nothing in the actual rules about landing on GO - the only mention of the salary is on the board itself - and there's no explanation of the Just Visiting space. You know, it probably is a fair assumption to think anyone playing this will have played the original Monopoly, who in turn would assume they work the same way in this game, but that's still an assumption. In the same vein, but slightly sillier, there's no mention of what the unit of currency is named. Looking at the symbol, "slashem" came to mind; I also thought of "monopole", but I prefer the former. Apparently, checking Wikipedia, it was assumed we all bought Here and Now: The World Edition to know it's really called the Mono; this is a decidedly less safe assumption. But at this point I'm nitpicking.

More questions may result once my group actually tries to, you know, actually play this, something that (apparently unfortunately) I doubt I'll be able to keep them from doing. - ZM
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Potter
United States
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1) Good question. The game's rules seem to make it so that a building's location within a district is of little importance. Then again, those shapes exist for a reason...one assumes.

2) Of course. This is Monopoly

3) Yes.

4) Yes. I recommend not doing that.

5) No.

6) No.

7) No. You can always choose not to build a Railroad at all.

8) No. If Hasbro says the correct answer is Yes, then there's no justice.

9) No. Sorry.

10) Um, I know that button has a trading symbol on it, but it's not for trading, it's for auctions. Trading is untimed, unfettered, and unlimited, as usual.

11) You can mortgage and unmortgage properties at your own discretion.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
louis munden
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Maybe someone could clear this rule up as it caused a fight first time i played the game!

If a player gets the chance card to steal a district from another player, but the only districts the player has that are not in a full colour group are mortgaged. does that then mean the district ive stolen is still mortgaged or is it reinstated with full rent value?

The district had the full 8 blocks on it and was mortgaged to pay off rent owed on the previous roll.

We played for money and this could have swung the game in either direction as it made a big difference to my total value

The rules are very confusing at times and dont seem to have covered everything so maybe someone could clear this up for me?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam R. Wood
United States
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
I don't drink, I don't smoke, I don't do drugs... I play videogames, which I think is far superior an addiction than any of those other ones.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
HerrCannon wrote:
10) Um, I know that button has a trading symbol on it, but it's not for trading, it's for auctions. Trading is untimed, unfettered, and unlimited, as usual.


That's not what the top section of page 14 of the rulebook is saying. At all. Quite the opposite in fact, hence my question. - ZM
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Jewels
United Kingdom
St. Albans
Hertfordshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Ok, another question. Does a stadium count as a bonus building? If there is one on a district does it then prevent any hazard buildings from also being built there?
Likewise, if someone draws the Chance card to get rid of a bonus building, is a stadium also included in that?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Potter
United States
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Stadiums do not count as bonus buildings, red as they are.

The term "Trading Unit" might be a misnomer, as it has absolutley nothing at all to do with trading. Take a closer look at the rule book.

And finally, mortgaged property can change hands just the same as unmortaged property. It does not, however, magically become unmortgaged when it changes hands, the new owner must lift the mortgage himself.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Danger Don
United States
Half Moon Bay
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Here are some answers to Zotmeister's questions that come from a reliable source. No, I don't work for Hasbro, and I'm not defending the rulebook. Most, but not all, of the answers agree with HerrCannon's post.

1. You must be able to physically fit a building into a district in order to build it. Buildings must be built on the district's grid. (Snap-to-grid = on). The shapes of the districts are intended to have meaning and to affect game play.

Once built, a building cannot be moved or removed. There are a few exceptions to this rule:
a) If you have a residential or industrial two-block building and you have permission to build one or more blocks, you may swap the two-block building for a three-block building of the appropriate type if the three-block building is available in the supply
b) If you have a residential or industrial one-block building and you have permission to build two or more blocks, you may swap the one-block building for a three-block building of the appropriate type if the three-block building is available in the supply
c) Hazard buildings may be removed by paying M500K per block on your turn.
d) Bonus buildings may be removed by the Chance earthquake card.

2. As in the case of standard Monopoly, all buildings have a limited supply.

3. Using railroads to move from one district to another is the same as advancing clockwise around the board.

4. When using a railroad to move from one district to another, you must pay rent, if owed, on the source district as well as on the destination district, if owed.

5. A given district is limited to a maximum of one stadium, one bonus building, one hazard building, one skyscraper, one Monopoly tower, one railroad (located on the outer board) and a total of eight blocks worth of residential / industrial buildings.

6. See 5.

7. You cannot build more than one railroad per district. When the build unit says to build a railroad, you _must_ build a railroad unless the supply is depleted.

8. You only play the inheritance tax if there is an unowned district available to buy.

9. You only collect a salary if you pass go in a clockwise direction, unless you're playing in the southern hemisphere. Wait, that last part isn't right.

10. You can offer a deal at any time. You don't have to owe rent to offer a deal (or to mortgage). The "auction" button is used for both auctions (pages 5 and 8), and deals (page 14).

The purpose of using the timer for deals is to try to prevent the game from bogging down because of long negotiations. If you can't come to an agreement within the time limit, you can negotiate another deal, but not the same deal until the next turn. There are certainly many ways to abuse the deal timer, but the players should use common sense to help keep the game moving.

11. You can mortgage and un-mortgage properties any time during your own turn or between other players' turns.

A note about the build button: the build button does _not_ generate the four results evenly (25% each). At the beginning of the game, there is a higher average block count and fewer railroads, and near the end of the time limit, there is a lower average block round and more railroads.




5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam R. Wood
United States
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
I don't drink, I don't smoke, I don't do drugs... I play videogames, which I think is far superior an addiction than any of those other ones.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That seems, at least, a thoroughly researched response. Thank you. - ZM
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Drew B
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
I like your thought but I have one more exception question in regards to your first point. While it is a rare occurance I ran into into it 4 hours into our first play through. It was a 6 person game and my only districts were the 3 greens. Owning all three I bought a tower. I then landed on chance and had to sell on district back to the bank. I sold back one of my green not featuring the tower. The others argued that with out a green monopoly I lost the tower or at least the doulble rent. This is covered on the chance card to steal a district as it is says of if not part of a complete color set.

Any thoughts?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Danger Don
United States
Half Moon Bay
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
In Monopoly City, the Skyscraper rules can lead to some interesting situations. You do have to own all of the districts in a color group to build a skyscraper, but once built, the key thing to remember is this:

The Skyscraper bonus applies to all districts in the same color group, regardless of the ownership of the districts.

What that means, then, is:
1. If you were forced to sell one of your green districts back to the bank and you still owned the skyscraper, you would keep both the skyscraper and the double rent.
2. If someone else later bought the green district, they would also enjoy the double rent benefits on that district, assuming that your green district skyscraper still existed.
3. If, instead of losing your green district to a chance card, you had sold one of your non-skyscraper green districts, both you and the new owner of the green district would enjoy the benefits of the green skyscraper.
4. You were right and your friends were wrong!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Drew B
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Kowalewski
United States
Rockford
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmb
I think that I have the rules figured out except for this one question. I would like to know if the benefits from the Special buildings (Stadiums, Zoo, Casino) are still in force if that district is mortaged? I know you can't collect rent on mortaged districts but am confused on Special Buildings not Bonus Buildings.
Any Help, THANKS
Steady Teddy
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Danger Don
United States
Half Moon Bay
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
The owner of the district that contains a Stadium gets double salary when they pass Go. This benefit is in effect whether or not the district is mortgaged.
As for the Zoo and Casino buildings, I think that they may have wandered over from another board game.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Kowalewski
United States
Rockford
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmb
Thanks for your answer, I will play it that way for all the Special Buildings. I bought my game at the 50% of sale at my local Toys are us. The Edition in the tin rather than box form included two extra special buildings. Hence the Zoo (adds 2m to the rent of all districts of that color) and the Casino gives the player a chance to use the electric device to either increase or decrease his pay as he passes GO. I don't have the rules in front of me right now but I belive this is correct. Also the rules for this edition allow you to purchase one of these special buildings for 2m when you own two districts of a color. Again thanks for answering.
Steady Teddy
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marc Thibault
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
deogunz wrote:

Do Monopoly towers in combination with skyscrapers make a district worth 4x rent?



I have the exact same question about the double-double rent. Does anyone have a privileged information ? whistle

m
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Kowalewski
United States
Rockford
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmb
Hi, Maybe I can shed some light on your question. On Page 13 of my rule book it says "If you have a skyscraper AND the MONOPOLY tower you CANNOT double the rent twice". I own the Monopoly city in the Tin box.
Hope this helps.
Steady Teddy.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marc Thibault
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmb

We played our first game. Everyone agreeded it was a good improvement from the traditional monopoly.

Since you can perform a building action only once in your turn, we came up with these questions:

1) Does removing a hazard building count as a building-action?
2) If not, does it mean you can remove a hazard building and then build something else in the same turn?
3) Does buying a bonus building or a stadium or a railroad is considered to be a building-action?

m
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
nash uddin
India
flag msg tools
hey dan..if a person has ths taxi chance card nd he lands on a property of other person in a normal turn,does he hve to pay the rent or he can use taxi card nd go bck 2 spaces or add 2 spaces without paying the rent..lemme no thankin u...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ALAN PHILLIPS

Georgia
msg tools
Do railroads count toward the 8 block limit? If so, do they increase the rent by one block?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ALAN PHILLIPS

Georgia
msg tools
Also, is it REQUIRED to trade 1 and 2 blocks of the same type so that you have 1 3 block building?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ALAN PHILLIPS

Georgia
msg tools
Also just wanted to add a reply to Question number one. It seems that if placement did not matter that the railroad could be placed anywhere (not just on the outside). After reading this in the rulebook, I believe that Danger Don is correct concerning building placement.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
LaredoHK wrote:
Do railroads count toward the 8 block limit? If so, do they increase the rent by one block?

No, because you don't put the Railroads on the city-block area, you put them on the outer track (like on the colored bar on the space itself).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The only issue I have with Dan's answer to #1 is that the rulebook says, if I recall, that you may switch to 3-block towers to "reduce clutter". This implies that you can switch buildings arbitrarily, not just when upgrading from 1/2 to 3.

This also could have implications for the building supply.


Of course, the rulebook isn't very descriptive with a lot of this, either. But in the little bit I've played of this so far, it certainly is more interesting than vanilla Monopoly.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phillipa Haddon
New Zealand
flag msg tools
Hi,
this is going to sound like a pretty dumb question but if you get the chance card that says you can steal another players district and all the buildings on it,does that include a district that has a stadium on it? even if you dont have another of that colour? it doesnt say anywhere in the rules that you cant, it just says that to build a stadium you must have two in one colour suit but not anything about just owning a stadium.
This caused a big augment while we were playing last night.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Pip
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I suppose you could, but that leads to the question of why they built the Stadium in a district they didn't control the entire set of anyway; to build the Stadium, they had to have a complete set of a color, why didn't they build the Stadium there?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2  Next »   | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.