Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Men of Iron» Forums » Rules

Subject: Charge in Terrain question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Christopher Giacoppo
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
mbmb
Hello,
The rules say that a unit cannot charge through an enemy ZOC or Terrain that precludes a charge (11.3). It gives the ditches at Courtrai as an example. The scenario book states that the ditches at Courtrai prevent mounted units from charging. So, if the scenario does not specifically forbid it, can a unit charge through difficult terrain. For example, can a unit charge through marshes at Poitiers?

Thank you.

Chris
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Giacoppo
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
mbmb
OK, thanks Ken. That does seem to make sense.

Chris
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ralph Shelton
United States
Renton
Washington
flag msg tools
It does cause problems with Crecy, where most of the open ground costs 2, though.

In the next volume of the series, the rule has been clarified to this:

Cavalry may not charge across rivers or slope hexsides, nor may they Charge a unit in a Woods, Marsh or Rough hex. They may Shock into/across those hexes/sides without a charge.

In addition to any scenario specific restrictions.

Reading that, I just altered it to read:

Cavalry may not charge across rivers, slope hexsides, Woods, Marsh, or Rough hexes. Nor may they Charge a unit in a Woods, Marsh or Rough hex. They may Shock into/across those hexes/sides without a charge.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Giacoppo
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
mbmb
OK thanks. But is it really a problem at Crecy since the rule says "more than 2"? Anyway, this rule seems to fix it (with your clarification). Thanks again.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ralph Shelton
United States
Renton
Washington
flag msg tools
Doh! More than 2. That's what I get for posting from work, rushing so I don't get nabbed by the internet police there.

Given that, it would not be a problem at Crecy. It would mean that they could charge through woods at Falkirk and village and marsh terrain at Bannockburn and village at Najera, as these are only 2MP.

Note the errata that Mounted and Foot movement costs for some terrain types are reversed for these battles: Crecy and Courtrai.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.